SEC sticking to 8-game league football schedule through at least 2025

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (AP) — The Southeastern Conference is sticking to an eight-game league schedule for at least two more seasons.

The league announced on Wednesday that teams will play eight SEC opponents in 2025 with one mandated game against a team from the ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 or a “major independent.”

The SEC had previously decided to use an eight-game format this season, when the league expands to 16 teams with the addition of Oklahoma and Texas. Teams will face the same league opponents in both seasons.

“We continue to monitor changes across college sports as they relate to future scheduling,” SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey said in a statement. “Continuing with our current format for the 2025 season provides additional time to understand the impact of the changes happening around us as we determine the appropriate long-term plan for SEC football scheduling.”

SEC leaders had considered a nine-game conference schedule that would include three annual rivalry games and an eight-game model with one annual rivalry game.

The league has already eliminated divisions with the two top teams in the standings facing off in the SEC Championship game.

SEC Presidents and Chancellors approved the schedule format last week following a recommendation from athletic directors.

The full schedule for 2025 hasn't been released.


Get alerts on the latest AP Top 25 poll throughout the season. Sign up here.


AP college football: and