Gov. Bill Lee names new appointees to TSU Board of Trustees

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WKRN) — Within hours of the House passing its version of the bill to vacate the entire board of trustees at Tennessee State University, Gov. Bill Lee signed the measure and announced his appointees for the seats.

In a release, the governor said he appointed eight TSU alumni to be the new Board of Trustees.

“Tennessee State University is a remarkable institution and my administration, in partnership with the General Assembly, is committed to ensuring students are being served,” Lee said in the release. “I’m pleased to appoint these highly qualified individuals who will work alongside administrators and students to further secure TSU’s place as a leading institution.”

Bill vacating TSU board signed by Gov. Bill Lee

The appointees are

  • Trevia Chatma, President, Bank of America Memphis

  • Jeffery Norfleet, Provost and Vice President for Administration, Shorter College

  • Marquita Qualls, Founder and Principal, Entropia Consulting

  • Terica Smith, Deputy Mayor and Director of Human Resources, Madison County

  • Charles Traughber, General Counsel, Division of Real Estate, Retail and Financial Services at Bridgestone Americas

  • Dwayne Tucker, CEO of LEAD Public Schools

  • Kevin Williams, President and CEO of GAA Manufacturing

  • Dakasha Winton, Senior Vice President and Chief Government Relations Officer at BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee

The new trustees take over the board at TSU effective immediately.

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to WKRN News 2.