Don Conyac ahead in Firestone mayoral race

Apr. 2—Firestone Trustee Don Conyac held a commanding lead over incumbent Mayor Drew Peterson in the town's mayoral race after the first round of election results were released at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday.

Conyac had 1,043 votes and Peterson 778 votes, according to the unofficial results.

When reached by phone Tuesday night, Conyac was not comfortable declaring victory but was feeling good about the returns.

"To my supporters, thank you very much," Conyac said. "I hope that I accomplish what I said I was going to do in bringing unity back to the community."

Conyac still has two years left on his current term as a town trustee. The newly elected board is expected to appoint someone to finish out Conyac's remaining term at a future meeting.

"To the people that didn't vote for me ... I'm going to listen to you as well," Conyac said. "We can all work together and make Firestone the best place to live."

In a text message Tuesday night, Peterson referred to Conyac as the apparent mayor elect and congratulated him on his victory.

"I want to thank all that voted for me. I am honored to have served," Peterson said. "I do have plans that will greatly serve our community so you will see me around."

In addition to the town's mayoral race, three seats were up for election on the Firestone Board of Trustees. However, as of the Times-Call's print deadline, the top three vote getters who will fill those seats were not determined as the race was too close to call.

Lorna Morton was leading the nine-candidate field with 766 votes, followed by Ray Byrd who had 670 votes and Linda J. Haney with 660 votes.

Bobby Matthews received 630 votes, John Damsma had 601 votes and incumbent Trustee David Whelan had 600 votes as of the deadline.

Another batch of results were expected late Tuesday night.

Ballots were mailed to registered voters the week of March 11.

As of 3 p.m. Tuesday, 11,818 ballots had been issued, according to the town clerk's office.

The mayor will serve a two-year term and the three newly elected trustees four-year terms.

All of the newly elected officials are scheduled to be sworn into office on April 24, according to a town spokesperson.