How to Watch All the X-Men Movies in Chronological Order (and by Release Date!)

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Whether you want to watch the X-Men movies in order of when they were released or in the story's chronological order, we've got you covered!

While Marvel movies are often thrilling and exciting, they can also be hard to follow at times, if we're being honest. From origin stories to spinoffs and sequels, MCU timelines aren't always straightforward and the movies' release dates don't necessarily go in chronological order—particularly with Marvel's much-loved X-Men series.

While it may not be as simple as, you know, Harry Potter 1-8, if you're ready to tackle an X-Men movie marathon, then we're here to help with our list of X-Men movies in the storylines' chronological order. And if you prefer to know the X-Men movies in order of release dates, we've compiled that for you, too.

X-Men Movies in Chronological Order

X-Men First Class (2011)

This prequel may not have been the first to be released in theaters, but within the X-Men universe, X-Men: First Class came the earliest. It stars James McAvoy as Charles Xavier alongside Michael Fassbender and Kevin Bacon and takes place in the 1960s.

X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014)

Starring Hugh Jackman, Peter DinklageJennifer Lawrence, Halle BerryNicholas Hoult, Anna Paquin, McAvoy and more, Days of Future Past technically takes place in 1973, which is why we're placing it here in the timeline. However, much of the plot deals with the future: the year 2023 (which, can you believe is only a year away from now—wow!)

X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009)

It's an origin story, of course, so some of Wolverine's beginnings take place in 1845 when he first discovers and harnesses his new powers. But that flashback aside, most of X-Men Origins: Wolverine is set in 1979 as James Logan navigates his rivalry with his brother, his experience in special forces and more.

Related: Let's Take a Moment to Appreciate Hugh Jackman's Adorable Dogs

X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)

Set in the 1980s, Apocalypse finds the X-Men facing a powerful mutant enemy named En Sabah Nur (played by Oscar Isaac), who's intent on bringing destruction to the world.

X-Men: Dark Phoenix (2019)

Featuring Sophie Turner (aka Jean Gray, aka the Phoenix by the end of the film), X-Men: Dark Phoenix takes place in 1992 and is the last of the films in the series to follow the lives of the young cast.

X-Men (2000)

In the real world, X-Men was the first movie to be released in the franchise. In the XMCU (the X-Men Cinematic Universe), it's the sixth movie chronologically in the overall storyline. X-Men is set in 2000, the same year it premiered in theaters in the real world. This movie sets the stage for the X-Men universe, introducing the Brotherhood and of course, the X-Men.

X2: X-Men United (2003)

X2: X-Men United, the franchise's first sequel, debuted in 2003 and its events are also set in that same year. Anti-mutant Colonel William Stryker sets things off as he kidnaps Professor X, forcing the X-Men to team up with their nemesis.

X-Men: The Last Stand (2006)

Debuting in 2006, X-Men: The Last Stand served as the finale film in the original series. In this sequel-of-sorts, the government finds a cure for mutations. Jean Gray also takes on her alternate persona, Phoenix, for the first time in the series—release-date-wise, but not chronologically.

The Wolverine (2013)

Wolverine returned in this 2013 film, a sequel to both X-Men Origins: Wolverine and X-Men: The Last Stand. Jackman's character arrives in Japan to reconnect with an old friend he saved years ago. There, Wolverine finds himself grieving the loss of Jean Grey while also in the middle of a conspiracy with the mutants and yakuza.

Deadpool (2016)

The Ryan Reynolds-led Deadpool film, about a guy diagnosed with cancer who's willing to do anything to save his own life, made waves on its own for being, well, just a really good movie. And while it's not totally required to watch Deadpool as a part of the X-Men series, you may want to add it into your marathon if you're feeling particularly thorough.

Related: How Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds Went From Friends to #CoupleGoals

The New Mutants (2020)

The New Mutants is kind of tricky to place because originally, it was supposed to be set in the '90s, but ultimately, the powers-that-be recommended it take place in present day. (For, you know, whatever reason.) Technically, it's set in 2017 and introduces five new, young mutants but ultimately, the events of this movie don't really affect the events in others and vice versa. It's just kind of its own thing, hanging in the universe.

Deadpool 2 (2018)

Deadpool 2 came out two years after the first and even features a cameo from the young X-Men. It debuted in 2018 and takes place in 2018, but Deadpool himself also travels in time back to X-Men Origins: Wolverine.

Logan (2017)

Logan premiered in 2017, but takes place in the future in the year 2029 during a time when mutants are almost extinct. Logan (Jackman) is now much older and far removed from his adventurous days as Wolverine, but when a mutant child named Laura comes to him for his help, he feels compelled to do so. Also, it ties the entire series up quite nicely.

Related: Director and Writer James Mangold Shares Insight Into His Film Logan

X-Men Movies in Order of Release

  • X-Men: July 14, 2000

  • X2: May 2, 2003

  • X-Men: The Last Stand: May 26, 2006

  • X-Men Origins: Wolverine: May 1, 2009

  • X-Men: First Class: June 3, 2011

  • The Wolverine: July 26, 2013

  • X-Men: Days of Future Past: May 23, 2014

  • Deadpool: February 12, 2016

  • X-Men: Apocalypse: May 27, 2016

  • Logan: March 3, 2017

  • Deadpool 2: May 18, 2018

  • Dark Phoenix: June 7, 2019

  • The New Mutants: August 28, 2020

Next, Every Single Marvel Movie in Order