So…Who Is Hosting the Oscars Tonight?

Starr Bowenbank
·2 min read
So…Who Is Hosting the Oscars Tonight?

Ah, another day, another awards show that’s bound to be awkward AF because of the coronavirus pandemic! JK (well, sorta)—tonight’s Oscars are supposed to be a ~classy~ affair with absolutely no Zooming in to the ceremony (or people dressing up in hoodies like Jason Sudeikis did when he collected an award at the Golden Globes lol). That being said, every classy awards show has an even classier host to set the tone for the evening, amirite? In this case…maybe not.

If you’re wondering who’s going host the Academy Awards tonight, the quick and short answer is that there is no host! After scrambling to replace Kevin Hart following his rather…messy tweeting controversy, there actually hasn’t been an official host for the ceremony since Jimmy Kimmel took over for him back in 2018.

Photo credit: Kevin Winter - Getty Images
Photo credit: Kevin Winter - Getty Images

According to Deadline, “The upcoming Oscars will not have a single host and producers have made offers to talent they hope will come in to present the categories for the 93rd Oscar cast on April 25. The plan is for high-profile presenters to deal out the awards on a rotating basis.” So instead of having one person run the show, technically it’ll be multiple people running the show! Kinda!

If you’re still interested in watching the ceremony even though it’s v hostless this year, be sure to turn on ABC at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET come April 25. Or if you just wanna see the pretty dresses on the socially distanced red carpet (hard same), you can look forward to celeb arrivals starting at 3:30 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. ET.

In the meantime, please find the answers to all your other Oscars-related questions riiight here:

You Might Also Like