See Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood and Every American Idol Winners' First Auditions

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

What a trip down memory lane!

<a href="" rel="nofollow noopener" target="_blank" data-ylk="slk:Kelly Clarkson;elm:context_link;itc:0;sec:content-canvas" class="link ">Kelly Clarkson</a> is hugged by Justin Guarini after winning '<a href="" rel="nofollow noopener" target="_blank" data-ylk="slk:American Idol;elm:context_link;itc:0;sec:content-canvas" class="link ">American Idol</a>' on Sept. 4, 2002.

Believe it or not, but the original "American Idol" Kelly Clarkson won the first season of the reality singing series 21 years ago!

Clarkson topped the charts with her debut single "A Moment Like This" and has gone on to release eight albums, win three Grammys and become a coach on The Voice and host of American Song Contest and her eponymous daytime talk show. And don't forget her movies, other TV appearances and her children's books. Plus, she's a busy working mother of two! This just goes to show there is no stopping this Texas native.

As the show continues to search for the next singing sensation for the 2023 edition of American Idol, let's take a look back at the audition performances of all of the American Idol winners over the last two decades.

American Idol winners list (with auditions)

Season 1 (2002) winner: Kelly Clarkson

Season 2 (2003) winner: Ruben Studdard

Season 3 (2004) winner: Fantasia Barrino 

Season 4 (2005) winner: Carrie Underwood

Season 5 (2006) winner: Taylor Hicks

Season 6 (2007) winner: Jordin Sparks

Season 7 (2008) winner: David Cook

Related: Listen to David Cook's Passionate New Single 'Fire'

Season 8 (2009) winner: Kris Allen

Season 9 (2010) winner: Lee DeWyze

Season 10 (2011) winner: Scotty McCreery

Season 11 (2012) winner: Phillip Phillips

Season 12 (2013) winner: Candice Glover

Season 13 (2014) winner: Caleb Johnson

Season 14 (2015) winner: Nick Fradiani

Season 15 (2016) winner: Trent Harmon

Season 16 (2018) winner: Maddie Poppe

Season 17 (2019) winner: Laine Hardy

Season 18 (2020) winner: Just Sam (Samantha Diaz)

Season 19 (2021) winner: Chayce Beckham

Season 20 (2022) winner: Noah Thompson

Season 21 (2023) winner: TBD

Next, Here's Everything You Need to Know About American Idol Season 21