Organisers reveal limited route details for 2023 Giro d'Italia Donne

 Giro d'Italia Donne - Stage 5 Map
Giro d'Italia Donne - Stage 5 Map

Just five weeks out from the start date, PMG Sport/Starlight have released limited details that include the stage start and finish locations and basic route maps of the Giro d'Italia Donne, set to take place from June 30 to July 9.

The race will cover a total of 928 kilometres across five regions of Tuscany, Emilia-Romagna, Piedmont, Liguria and Sardinia.

Normally a 10-day event, this year's race has been reduced to nine days and includes one rest day before the peloton transfers from the mainland to Sardinia for the final two stages.

The route details reveal that the peloton will race over the Passo (Pian) del Lupo marked as the 'Cima Coppi' on stage 5 from Salassa to Ceres of the nine-day race for the maglia rosa.

Embarking on its 34th edition, the Giro d'Italia Donne is currently organised by PMG Sport/Starlight, an organization that took over the women's stage race in 2021 and 2022 from long-time organiser Giuseppe Rivolta.

However, beginning next year, RCS Sport will take over organising the event on a four-year term through 2027.

The opening stage will offer the field a 4.4km individual time trial in Chianciano Terme that will suit the powerful time trial specialists looking to take the event's first maglia rosa.

The second day of racing will be a 102.1km race from Bagno a Ripoli to Marradi that includes a category two scent over the Passo della Colla close to the finish in Marradi, which could see an early shake-up in the classification.

Stage 3 is a 118.2km race from Formigine to Modena, which includes a category three climb at Villa Bianca-Marano, but could ultimately suit a breakaway of a sprint.

Join Cyclingnews' coverage of the 2023 Giro d'Italia Donne with race reports, results, photo galleries, news and race analysis.

Read More

'Giro Donne can stand on its own two feet' - organiser praises RCS Sport takeover

RCS Sport take over organisation of Giro d'Italia Donne and Under 23 Giro

Riders remain in the dark on details of women's Vuelta and Giro routes

Stage 4 will present a 134km race from Fidenza to Borgo Val di Taro.

The fifth day of racing is a 103km race from Salassa to Ceres but begins with a category one climb along the Passo (Pian) del Lupo, which is marked as the 'Cima Coppi' of the Giro d'Italia Donne, the highest peak of the race. The climb will start at Castellamonte and is roughly 16km. There are also double category three ascents at Vietti and Sant'Ignazio before the run-in to Ceres.

Stage 6 offers the field a hilly 104.4km loop to and from Canelli with triple category three ascents in Castino, Calosso and Santo Stefano.

On stage 7, the peloton will race 109.1km from Albenga to Alassio, travelling along the Ligurian coastline and then racing inland to tackle the category three Passo del Ginestro, and then the double category two ascents in Vioneto and Salita before a summit finish on the category three climb to Alassio.

The peloton will then enjoy a rest day on July 7 and travel to Sardinia, where they will race the final two stages.

The penultimate stage 8 will be 125.7km from Nuoro to Sassari with just one category three ascent at Romana-Ittiri.

The nine-day race will conclude on stage 9 with a 126.8km from Sassari to Olbia, which begins with a category one climb at Osilo and also includes a category three climb before a run-in to Olbia, where the overall champion will be crowned.

  • June 30 - Stage 1: Chianciano, 4,4km (ITT)

  • July 1 - Stage 2: Bagno a Ripoli to Marradi, 102,1km

  • July 2 - Stage 3: Formigine to Modena, 118,2km

  • July 3 - Stage 4: Fidenza to Borgo Val di Taro, 134km

  • July 4 - Stage 5: Salassa to Ceres, 103,3km

  • July 5 - Stage 6: Canelli to Canelli, 104,4km

  • July 6 - Stage 7: Albenga to Alassio, 109,1km

  • July 7 - Rest Day

  • July 8 - Stage 8: Nuoro to Sassari, 125,7km

  • July 9 - Stage 9: Sassari to Olbia, 126,8km


Organisers will host 15 WorldTeams, including defending champion Annemiek van Vleuten's Movistar squad, along with 9 Continental Teams for a total of 160 athletes.

  • Canyon-SRAM Racing

  • EF Education-TIBCO-SVB

  • FDJ-Suez

  • Fenix-Deceuninck

  • Human Powered Health

  • Israel Premier Tech Roland

  • Liv Racing Teqfind

  • Movistar Team Women

  • Team Jayco Alula

  • Team DSM, Team

  • Jumbo-Visma

  • Team SD Worx

  • Trek-Segafredo

  • UAE Team ADQ

  • Uno-X Pro Cycling Team

  • Bizkaia–Durango

  • Isolmant-Premac-Vittoria

  • Team Mendelspeck

  • Top Girls Fassa Bortolo

  • Aromitalia Basso Vaiano

  • Bepink

  • Born To Win-Zhiraf-G20

  • GB Junior Team Piemonte

  • AG Insurance-Soudal-QuickStep Team