Why you can trust us
We independently evaluate the products we review. When you buy via links on our site, we may receive compensation. Read more about how we vet products and deals.

Amazon editors say this is the best book of 2023 — plus 7 more winners, all on sale

Sooo many gift ideas here — and Stephen King's latest is nearly 50% off.

three books against a sparkling light-colored background
Amazon editors divulge their favorite books of the year — and the top ones are all on sale!

If you were around in the mid-90s you may remember a hip little online book shop called Amazon. Well, it grew way up and expanded mightily, but the book editors at Amazon never broke their focus. Once again, this year, they've read thousands of titles to bring us an awesome list of the Best Books of 2023. It's live and stacked with excellent ideas for you and everyone on your list.

Their top pick (drum roll...) is The Heaven & Earth Grocery Store by James McBride. The runaway New York Times bestseller and Amazon bestseller is a murder mystery wrapped in classic American literary fiction, spinning an entrancing tale of small-town secrets and the people who keep them. "One of the great American novels of our time," says Amazon editor Al Woodworth.

Below are Amazon editors' top picks of 2023 from the 100-title list, plus we've highlighted five category standouts, including Best Non-Fiction, Best Science Fiction/Fantasy, Best Romance and more. And guess what? Alongside all the holiday deals kicking around at Amazon, we were thrilled to find that every title below is on sale in either paperback or hardcover — and they'll all arrive by Christmas, so if you need a great gift for the book-lover in your life, we suggest one (or two, or three...) of these titles for under the tree.

No. 1 Best Book

Readers love this story of murder, mystery, secrets and midcentury Jewish and African American life in small town Pennsylvania. Says Amazon editor Al Woodworth: “Irresistible. We fell in love with this cacophonous cast of characters and McBride's unforgettable story of a small community. It's as profound as it is ingeniously entertaining, making it one of the great American novels of our time."

$18 at Amazon

No. 2 Best Book

In this "stunning debut" (People) from author Amanda Peters, a young Mi'kmaq girl goes missing in Maine, sparking a decades-long mystery. Amazon Editorial Director Sarah Gelman shares that "the whole team was blown away by this debut novel," which is "perfect for fans of Celest Ng and Ann Patchett." Gelman adds, "This quietly beautiful book will break, then mend, your heart." This novel is both an Editors' Pick and an Amazon bestseller.

$24 at Amazon

Best Teen/Young Adult

Rebecca Ross expertly weaves this engaging tale of two young, magical rival journalists who fall in love and then must face hell together during a cataclysmic war amongst the gods. Amazon senior editor Seira Wilson says "This incredible novel is like a WWI story with warring gods instead of countries — romantic, heart wrenching, and sprinkled with enchantments, you'll be spellbound by this divine romance-fantasy adventure."

$12 at Amazon

Best Non-Fiction

Author Michael Finkel shares the unbelievable true-crime story of the world's most prolific art thief, Stéphane Breitwieser. Amazon senior editor Lindsay Powers says, "You'll fly through this true story of an idealistic maniac on a mission to filch priceless treasures, upping the ante with each outrageous crime. A blast to read — but also horrifying, considering what happened to $2 billion worth of art."

$24 at Amazon

Best Science Fiction/Fantasy

This bestseller from In the Likely Event author Rebecca Yarros ensconces readers in the world of an elite war college for dragon riders, mixing suspense and sexiness with fantasy and adventure for a thoroughly engrossing story. "Prepare to be fully immersed!" exclaims Amazon editor Kami Tei. "For those who grew up with the Harry Potter and Hunger Games series, this saga is the adult version — thrilling, action-packed, and spicy at times. Dragons, fighting and romance, what more can you want!?" Indeed!

$17 at Amazon

Best Biography/Memoir

How did Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. become the extraordinary man that changed the world forever — and how did he find the bravery to fight for justice despite knowing the incredible risks? This vividly written bio helps provide answers (and context), including recently declassified FBI files. "I devoured this in two days," Woodworth confesses. "A remarkable biography of the gutting hardships and heroics of a man who changed the world."

$17 at Amazon

Best Romance

If you're a romance reader, this year was an embarrassment of riches ... including this fan-favorite story of opposites attracting on two sides of a business empire. Tei calls it "enemies-to-lovers at its finest," adding that the novel is "sexy and oh-so-sultry ... you will fall in love with Lucian and Sloane's story." More than 32,000 five-star reviewers agree!

$13 at Amazon

Amazon Editors' Pick

From the horror-suspense king comes the story of one resourceful woman's quest to find the truth behind multiple disappearances in a midwestern town. Wilson says Holly is "retro King horror at its best in a high-stakes game of cat-and-mouse between an unassuming couple committing unspeakable crimes and PI Holly Gibney. With tension that coils tighter with every chapter, this unforgettable novel will thrill longtime King fans and newcomers alike." And it's nearly 50% off!

$16 at Amazon

The reviews quoted above reflect the most recent versions at the time of publication.

If you have Amazon Prime, you’ll get free shipping, of course. Not yet a member? No problem. You can sign up for your free 30-day trial here. (And by the way, those without Prime still get free shipping on orders of $25 or more.)