Beauties to Follow on Instagram

June 14, 2014

It’s no surprise that the most creative people flock to the most visual form of social media. From Beyonce’s go-to hair guy, to the makeup artist behind Dior couture’s runway looks—you can find them all on Instgram. You just need to know where to look.

Follow these 25 beauty pros for inspiration and rare behind-the-scenes peeks at their creative genius and their famous clients. 

Eugene Souleiman @eugenesouleiman: When you get sick of looking at pretty red carpet hair, head on over here for a dose of runway fantasy and backstage shenanigans. 

Neal Farinah @nealferinah: This is the man behind Beyoncé’s mane. His feed is a veritable timeline of her many looks. 

Sam McKnight @sammcknight1: The man behind Chanel’s runway hair has a serious floral fetish, making for colorful mix of blooms and mind-blowing styles. Also, he likes to take selfies wearing goofy hairpieces. 

Sarah Potempa @sarahpotempa: Beach waves and braids galore from this hair stylist and styling tool entrepreneur. 

Garren @garrennewyork: Follow this legendary hair stylist for some of the best high fashion #TBT and #FBF around. Kate Moss! Linda Evangelista! 

Chris McMillan @mrchrismcmillan: From ‘the Rachel’ to Kim Kardashian’s wedding ‘do, McMillan’s a hair legend. He’s also developed his own signature (silly) shot-from-below selfie. 

Mark Townsend @marktownsend1: The master of modern, simple hairstyles has found fans in the Olsen sisters, who appear frequently on his page, along with a smattering of puppies and food porn. 

Jen Atkin @jenatkinhair: Jen doesn’t just take a lot of pictures of famous clients like J.Lo, Katy Perry, and the Kardashians, she includes that all-important back-of-the-head view you rarely get to see when celebs hit the red carpet. 

Aura Friedman @auracolorist: When a starlet or model wants to go very, very blonde or a designer wants rainbow colored locks for their model, Aura is the go-to colorist. She just turned Molly Sims into a redhead, but you’ll find plenty of hues that aren’t found in nature on her account. 

Mara Roszak @mararoszak: If you were one of the many fans admiring Emma Stone’s hair during her recent Spider-Man publicity tour, you can thank Mara. Beautiful, soft, feminine looks are her specialty. 

Harry Josh @harryjoshhair: Harry’s the bombshell hair guy. Just ask Miranda Kerr, Kate Upton, or Sofia Vergara, all of whom make appearances here. 

Pati Dubroff @patidubroff: Dubroff’s painted faces of Gwyneth Paltrow, Drew Barrymore, Julianne Moore, Charlize Theron and tons more, all of whom pop up on her feed amongst lust-worthy product shots. 

Bleach London @bleachlondon: The edgy duo behind London’s hippest salon, Bleach, is Alex Brownsell and Sam Teasdale; they can turn your head every color of the candy rainbow. (Brownsell is also Florence Welch's stylist.)

Mario Dedivanovic @makeupbymario: The Kardashian-Jenner ladies have him on speed-dial and he did Kim’s makeup at her recent wedding to Kanye West. Shocker: his feed’s full of contouring and big lashes.  

Sir John @sjblife: One word: Beyoncé. Sir John—yes, it’s his real name—is one of Bey’s trusted makeup artists (he also works with model Joan Smalls) and peppers in plenty of inspirational quotes about glamour.

Nick Barose @dilokritbarose: Nick Barose is as close as a makeup artist can come to being household name thanks to his fearless use of color on his very famous client: Lupita Nyong’o. He’s also unfiltered, so his commentary on the beauty industry and clever hashtags make for a fun read. 

Troy Surratt @troysurratt: Kevyn Aucoin’s former protégé just launched his own makeup line. His feed is a gorgeously curated collection of painted faces, artsy extras, and happy shots of his personal life. 

Pat McGrath @patmcgrathreal: Pat McGrath is the fairy godmother of editorial and runway makeup. She’s also been working with the best of the best for decades, so there are plenty of nostalgia-inducing images of your favorite supermodels. 

Lisa Eldridge @lisaeldridgemakeup: Lisa’s makeup tutorials are legendary and she peppers her feed with her own work as well as plenty of gorgeous vintage throwbacks. (And the occasional fluffy animal.) 

Gucci Westman @gucciwestman: Gucci may be the friendliest makeup artist out there, which is reflected in her feed, a combination of images from her personal life, her work, and the products she loves. 

Charlotte Tilbury @ctilburymakeup: This Brit just launched her own makeup collection (headed stateside this fall), and her feed is a mix of her famous clients—Kate Moss, among others—and product porn. 

Val Garland @thevalgarland: This editorial makeup artist has worked with pretty much every important designer and photographer on the planet. Her Instagram is a mix of artistic inspiration, off-the-wall imagery, and her own creative makeup work. 

Beauty Is Boring @beautyisboring: Makeup artist-cum-photographer Robin Black produces some of the loveliest images you’ll find online, often set against minimalist backgrounds to optimally showcase her painted faces. 

Hannah Murray @hannah_murray1: Topshop’s makeup consultant is the queen of no-makeup makeup. Her peaceful feed is full of inspirational imagery and gorgeous shots from her far-flung travels. 

Tom Pecheux @tompecheux: Estee Lauder’s creative director is one of the funniest guys in the business. Both his goofy and artistic side are evident in his feed—especially during fashion week.