Elon Musk Dissolves Twitter Board, Crowns Himself as ‘Sole Director’

Elon Musk dissolved Twitter’s board and made himself the “sole director” of the company after all previous members were removed from their roles, according to a new SEC filing.

The Tesla became “the sole director of Twitter,” according to the filing, which elaborates that the people formerly on the social media platform’s board “are no longer directors of Twitter,” as a result of the $44 billion acquisition.

After taking control of Twitter on Thursday night, Musk immediately fired the social platform’s CEO Parag Agrawal, CFO Ned Segal and Vijaya Gadde, head of legal policy, trust and safety — a move confirming many users’ fear about the turmoil Musk’s reign would entail for the social media platform.

Also Read:
The Dilemma of Elon Musk’s New Twitter: Should I Stay or Should I Go?


In addition to Agrawal, the former board of directors included Bret Taylor, Omid Kordestani, David Rosenblatt, Martha Lane Fox, Patrick Pichette, Egon Durban, Fei-Fei Li and Mimi Alemayehou, all of whom were removed from the board after its dissolution Thursday.

This decision certainly isn’t the last of the changes that will arise from Musk’s takeover, as the billionaire plans to roll out a change to Twitter’s verification system that would require verified users to pay to keep their blue checks. The proposed plan, which would give verified users 90 days to subscribe to the Twitter Blue platform for $19.99, is said to launch on Nov. 7 and has received backlash from users skeptical of the ploy.

The blue check change comes amid a mass exodus from the social media platform, as many figures across media, entertainment and politics have decided they won’t be sticking around to see what further chaos ensues on the app.

Most recently, Shonda Rhimes sent her Twitter resignation by tweeting “Not hanging around for whatever Elon has planned. Bye,” Saturday morning to her 1.9 million followers.

Also Read:
Elon Musk Slammed for Spreading Conspiracy Theory in Tweet Reply to Hillary Clinton