'We the Voters' Digital Initiative Announces Distribution Partners, Releases Trailer

THR Staff

Paul G. Allen's Vulcan Productions, Show of Force and Morgan Spurlock's Warrior Poets have announced distribution partners for We the Voters: 20 Films for the People, a nonpartisan digital slate of 20 short films "designed to inform, inspire and activate voters nationwide with fresh perspectives on the subjects of democracy, elections and governance in the lead-up to the 2016 elections."

The digital initiative features comedies, documentaries and animated shorts that show how U.S. democracy works and encourage Americans to make informed choices and show up to vote.

The first 10 films debut Wednesday at WeTheVoters.com and will be distributed by FilmBuff through more than 60 digital partners.

Exhibition partners range from streaming services including Amazon Video, Fullscreen, Google, Hulu and iTunes to VOD platforms such as DirecTV, Verizon Fios, and Xumo to media properties including AOL, Mashable, More, Refinery29 and Yahoo to online platforms ranging from BitTorrent Now and Machinima to Steam and Upworthy, as well as news and politics outlets such as Mother Jones, The Guardian and The Huffington Post.

"People are bombarded with news coverage of every presidential election, but what's missing from the picture is content that breaks down the fundamental issues in an entertaining way," Carole Tomko, creative director and general manager of Vulcan Productions, said in a statement. "The goal is to give people a framework to get informed. Vulcan is thrilled to have this depth and breadth of strategic platforms and partners to deliver these shorts to the widest possible audience."

Added FilmBuff CEO Janet Brown: "The interest in We the Voters from major players across such a wide cross-section of digital outlets and platforms has been overwhelming. The strategic distribution of content is as important as the content itself, and reflects the rapidly growing market for relevant, on-demand entertainment. Because this project targets a niche audience during an important election season when so much hangs in the balance, we're thrilled to deliver so many touch points where younger voters can access the content." 

The We the Voters collection of short films features talent including Anabelle Acosta, Tom Arnold, Mario Cantone, Rosario Dawson, Grace Helbig, Richard Kind, Joshua Malina, Charlotte McKinney, Ana Ortiz, Harold Perrineau and Analeigh Tipton.

Watch the trailer below.