Tiger Woods Penalized at Masters for Illegal Move
Tiger Woods | Photo Credits: Harry How/Getty Images
Once a cheater, always a cheater?
That was the feeling of an eagle-eyed viewer who spotted Tiger Woods making an illegal move at the Masters tournament over the weekend, and texted a friend who is a rules official, according to the New York Times.
Woods was penalized two strokes Saturday after he admitted to making an illegal drop the day before, placing the ball two yards back from where he had originally shot it on the 15th hole. Tournament rules state that a player must drop the ball "as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played," but Woods later told officials the area was muddy so he moved the ball back two yards and tried to adjust his swing accordingly, the Times reports.
Some said Woods should have withdrawn or been disqualified from the tournament because of the move.
"No problem Masters tournament happy to call in and help," Thomas Vonn tweeted Saturday. "You always have to keep an eye on those cheaters ;)."
At press time, Woods was two under par, seven shots back from the leader.
Do you think Woods should have been disqualified?