Anthony Anderson to Host 45th NAACP Image Awards

Tony Maglio
The Wrap
Anthony Anderson to Host 45th NAACP Image Awards

Anthony Anderson will host the 45th NAACP Image Awards from the Pasadena Civic Auditorium on Sat., Feb. 22, aired live on TV One.

The first group of presenters confirmed include Lupita Nyong’o, Tyler Perry, Michael Ealy, Tony Goldwyn, Arsenio Hall and Gabrielle Union.

Regina Hall, Octavia Spencer, Archie Panjabi, Rickey Smiley and Louis Gossett Jr. will join them. Dennis Haysbert will serve as the awards show’s in-house announcer.

Also read: NAACP Awards Nominees Include Kerry Washington, Andre Braugher and Kevin Hart

The contenders for “Entertainer of the Year” are Beyoncé, Dwayne Johnson, Idris Elba, Kevin Hart, Nicole Beharie, and Oprah Winfrey. As previously announced, Academy Award-winning actor, producer, director and 2014 Image Award nominee Forest Whitaker will receive the NAACP Chairman’s Award.

Paris Barclay and Cheryl Boone Isaacs, the first African-American Presidents of the Directors Guild of America and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, respectively, will be inducted into the Image Awards Hall of Fame.

Also read: NAACP Image Awards to Air on TV One for Next 5 Years

The two-hour special airs live on Saturday Feb. 22 on TV One at 9 p.m. ET (PT tape-delayed). A one-hour pre-show airs live from the red carpet at 8 p.m. ET (PT tape-delayed).

The NAACP Image Awards are being produced by Reginald Hudlin and Phil Gurin. The production team will also include Tony McCuin as director and Suzanne Bender and Stephanie Sacco as talent producers.

The NAACP Image Awards will air on TV One through 2018.

The post Anthony Anderson to Host 45th NAACP Image Awards appeared first on TheWrap.

Related stories from TheWrap:

Oprah Winfrey in Talks to Make Her Broadway Debut in 'Night, Mother'

Cuba Gooding Jr. to Star in Action Thriller 'Gridlocked' for Hackybox Pictures (Exclusive)

Tyler Perry's 'Haves and the Have Nots' Scores Second Highest Rated Episode in OWN History