Please enable Javascript

Javascript needs to be enabled in your browser to use Yahoo Tech.

Here’s how to turn it on: https://help.yahoo.com/kb/enable-javascript-browser-sln1648.html

RSS Feeds Come to Yahoo Tech. Here’s How to Use Them.

David Pogue

It’s my great pleasure to announce that now, at last, Yahoo Tech offers RSS feeds. Now we’re a real website!

RSS, a popular feature among experienced web hounds, is like a real-time newspaper that you build yourself from web news and blog sites all over. Each day — each minute, really — you get a compact listing of all the articles from those sites, neatly collected for you. You check out the headlines, read the summaries, and click the ones that look good.

Here’s how your RSS “newspaper” might appear:

RSS Feeds Come to Yahoo Tech. Here’s How to Use Them.

So why would you want to subscribe to a Yahoo Tech feed instead of just visiting our site? Here are some reasons:

– An RSS feed can let you know when there’s something new, instead of your having to go to YahooTech.com to look.

– Once an article or video appears on Yahoo Tech’s home page, it stays there forever. It gets pushed down the page by new articles, but still — an RSS feed shows you only what’s new.

– Some readers prefer a simple text list of our site — a table of contents view — instead of the photo-based tiles that appear on our home page. Well, guess what? Your wish just came true. Here’s what our site looks like as a list:

image

– You might have a particular interest in one of our writers or columnists (Pogue, Tynan, Pegoraro …) or a particular interest in one of our departments (How-To, Reviews, Videos). Our new RSS feature lets you sign up for just the new articles in these categories.

If any of this sounds attractive, here you go: a crash course in setting up your Yahoo Tech RSS feed, or feeds.

The first step is choosing a program or website that can display your RSS “newspaper.” Dozens of programs — for Macs, Windows PCs, phones, and tablets — can do the job, including Bloglines, NewsBlur, Pulse, Taptu, Reeder, FeedDemon, Spundge, Good Noows, Hivemined, Prismatic, Netvibes, NetNewsWire, Managing News and so on. Some email programs can subscribe to these feeds, too, dropping them right into your inbox.

Setting up Yahoo Tech in feedly
There are websites that handle RSS feeds, too. By far the most popular and most attractive online option is feedly.com.

In the following step-by-steps, I’ll use feedly as my example. That way, I don’t have to worry about whether you’re using Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android, or whatever. It’s a website — it shows up on any gadget.

And, as it turns out, feedly.com offers a gorgeous, ready-to-use “table of contents” for all Yahoo Tech categories.

(Note: Using feedly requires that you have a free Google or Gmail account, as you’ll see shortly.)

1. Go to feedly by clicking here.
You’re taken to a handsome scrolling list of the subscriptions we offer. The top one incorporates all Yahoo Tech articles. But you can also choose to receive only my articles, only the reviews and so on.

image

2. For each feed you want to receive, click follow.
If you want to see all Yahoo Tech articles, for example, click the follow button under the Yahoo Tech description:image

You can also sign up to get only the articles written by a particular Yahoo Tech writer. For example, you can click follow under my name:

image

When you first click a follow button, you’re asked to sign up for a free feedly account. You do that by entering your Google or Gmail name and password. (As noted above, feedly requires a Gmail or Google account.)

image

Now a panel appears at the left side of the screen, like this:

image

Here you can turn on Must Read (meaning that articles won’t disappear from your RSS feed until you’ve read them).

You can also put this new feed into a category (“Collection”) called, say, Tech. That’s handy if you also subscribe to RSS feeds from sports sites, news sites, and so on. (If you don’t specify a collection, your new feed will appear in a category called Uncategorized.)

3. Click Add.
And that’s it! From now on, whenever you visit feedly.com, you’ll see Yahoo Tech listed in the left-side list. Click it to see all the latest articles in that feed.

Click a headline to read a short description of the article:

image

If it looks juicy, click the headline to open the first paragraph of the story:

image

If you want to read the whole thing, click Visit Website.

Note, by the way, that you can design feedly’s RSS feed any way you like; use the gear button to choose a view, like this:

image

You can view it as a simple text list of articles (Title Only). You can choose Magazine or Cards, which offer a photo and description of each article:

image

Or you can choose Full Articles, which shows you the actual beginning of each article.

Setting up Yahoo Tech in other readers
In many other programs that read RSS feeds, you’ll want to know the address of the feed you want. The instructions vary by program, but the place to enter a new RSS address is always obvious.

Here’s a list of our RSS addresses, for your copy-and-pasting pleasure:

FULL SITE
https://www.yahoo.com/tech/rss

WRITERS
All Columns: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/columns/rss
David Pogue: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/author/david-pogue/rss
Rob Pegoraro: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/author/rob-pegoraro/rss
Dan Tynan: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/author/dan-tynan/rss
Deb Amlen: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/author/deb-amlen/rss
Rob Walker: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/author/rob-walker/rss
Rafe Needleman: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/author/rafe-needleman/rss
Jason Gilbert: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/author/jason-gilbert/rss
Alyssa Bereznak: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/author/alyssa-bereznak/rss
Brian Heater: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/author/brian-heater/rss
Daniel Bean: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/author/daniel-bean/rss

WEEKLY COLUMNS
The Pogue Review: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/the-pogue-review/rss
Modern Family: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/modern-family/rss
Culture Shock: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/culture-shock/rss
The Rules of Tech: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/the-rules-of-tech/rss
Buzzology: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/buzzology/rss

DEPARTMENTS
Pogue Videos: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/pogue-videos/rss
Ask Pogue: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/ask-pogue/rss
Reviews: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/reviews/rss
How To: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/how-to/rss
In the News: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/in-the-news/rss
Procrastinaut: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/procrastinaut/rss
Good Ideas: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/good-ideas/rss
Now on Sale: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/now-on-sale/rss
Coming Soon: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/coming-soon/rss
The New Old Thing: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/the-new-old-thing/rss
Apple: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/apple/rss
Kickstarter Reviews: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/kickstarter-reviews/rss
Pro Tips: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/pro-tips/rss
Try This App: https://www.yahoo.com/tech/tagged/try-this-app/rss

Yes, all of this takes a few steps. But it’s five steps you have to complete only once. After that, you’re all set up for two of life’s great joys simultaneously: RSS feeds — and Yahoo Tech.   

You can also get these feeds delivered to you via email, using Blogtrottr. Here’s how.

You can email David Pogue here. Follow Yahoo Tech on Facebook for all the latest.