TCU standouts Tomlinson, Johnston among players to receive All-Big 12 honors

·2 min read

TCU football didn’t have its best season collectively, but a handful of players stood out.

Cornerback Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson and wide receiver Quentin Johnston were among the TCU players earning All-Big 12 honors on Thursday as both were named to the first team.

The league’s second team included TCU center Steve Avila, return specialist Derius Davis and defensive end Ochaun Mathis. Wide receiver Taye Barber and defensive end Dylan Horton earned honorable mention, while left tackle Obinna Eze was honorable mention offensive newcomer of the year.

Hodges-Tomlinson is a first-team selection for the second consecutive season. He had a team-leading seven pass breakups, two forced fumbles and tied for the team lead with two interceptions. He returned one of those interceptions for a touchdown.

Johnston led TCU in receiving with 634 yards, six touchdowns and 19.2 yards per reception. He ranked second on the team with 33 catches.

Avila started 11 of 12 games at center — and Eze all 12 games at left tackle — for an offense that ranked 37th in the country in total offense (435.8 yards per game). The Frogs also had the third-best rushing attack in the league, averaging 196.3 yards per game.

Davis ranked second in the Big 12 and 10th nationally in kickoff return average at 29.6 yards, highlighted by a 100-yard touchdown return to open the West Virginia game.

Mathis and Horton tied for the team lead in sacks with 4.0. Mathis finished with seven tackles for loss, while Horton led the team with nine.

Barber, meanwhile, finished third on the team with 30 receptions for 499 yards and two touchdowns.

TCU enters the offseason for the first time in 21 seasons without Gary Patterson running the program. Sonny Dykes officially took over this week.

TCU will open the 2022 season at Colorado on Sept. 3.

Big 12 honors

Among the Big 12 individual honors included Iowa State’s Breece Hall (offensive player of the year), Baylor’s Jalen Pitre (defensive), Baylor’s Trestan Ebner (special teams), Baylor’s Connor Galvin (offensive lineman), Iowa State’s Will McDonald IV and Kansas State’s Felix Anudike-Uzomah (co-defensive linemen), Oklahoma State’s Jaylen Warren (offensive newcomer), Baylor’s Siaki Ika (defensive newcomer), Texas’ Xavier Worthy (offensive freshman), Oklahoma State’s Collin Oliver (defensive freshman) and Oklahoma State’s Mike Gundy (coach).

First-team quarterback honors went to Oklahoma State’s Spencer Sanders with Iowa State’s Brock Purdy being named second team. Iowa State tight end Charlie Kolar was the only unanimous selection on the team.

Get the Horned Frogs Extra newsletter

Get the latest news regarding TCU athletics in your inbox every Thursday morning.


Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting