More than 15,000 packages of Amy’s Rice Mac & Cheeze recalled. They may not be vegan.

·2 min read

One lot of Amy’s Vegan Organic Rice Mac & Cheeze may not be vegan after all because it contained trace amounts of milk. The mistaken ingredient was not declared on the product label, according to a recall alert posted by the U.S. Food & Drug Administration on Wednesday.

“The company is recalling this single lot out of an abundance of caution to ensure the safety of consumers who have an allergy or sensitivity to milk,” Amy’s Kitchen said in the recall notice.

Amy’s Kitchen found out about the error after receiving a test result from a third-party lab that indicated one of the meals in the lot contained trace amounts of milk protein. According to the alert, the frozen food company contacted the FDA to notify its customers and retailers. In total, 15,626 cases of Vegan Organic Rice Mac & Cheeze are being recalled.

What to look for

Amy’s Kitchen recall is of Lot 60J0421 of its Vegan Organic Rice Mac & Cheeze, show on its package. The recalled packages have a “Best By” date of 10/2023, UPC number 42272-00043.
Amy’s Kitchen recall is of Lot 60J0421 of its Vegan Organic Rice Mac & Cheeze, show on its package. The recalled packages have a “Best By” date of 10/2023, UPC number 42272-00043.

Amy’s recall is of Lot 60J0421 of its Vegan Organic Rice Mac & Cheeze that was distributed to retailers nationwide.

The recall only involves the Rice Mac & Cheeze packages containing the “Best By” date of 10/2023, UPC number 42272-00043 and Lot Code 60J0421. The product is an 8-ounce size.

Amy’s Kitchen products are popular and sold at many major grocery chains in South Florida, including Publix, Winn-Dixie, Whole Foods, Walmart, Sedano’s, Milam’s Market and The Fresh Market. Several of these grocers noted the recall on their websites.

What you should do

Your favorite snack was recalled? What it means, what to do and how to get your money

If you are allergic to dairy products and have a milk allergy the company says you should not eat this single lot of its Rice Mac & Cheeze. People with such allergies can risk serious or life-threatening allergic reactions, Amy’s said in its recall notice.

Check the label for the product codes if you have a package in your freezer. If you’re vegan you’ll likely want to pass on this particular lot, too.

“Amy’s is working with its retail and distribution customers nationwide to ensure that any remaining inventory of the impacted lot of the Vegan Organic Rice Mac & Cheeze is removed from distribution. No other Amy’s Kitchen products are impacted,” the Petaluma, California-based company said.

Consumers can call Amy’s Consumer Relations team with any questions at 800-643-0570 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific time Monday-Friday.

One lot of Amy’s Kitchen’s Vegan Organic Rice Mac & Cheeze was recalled on Jan. 19, 2022 because a lab found it contained trace amounts of undeclared milk.
One lot of Amy’s Kitchen’s Vegan Organic Rice Mac & Cheeze was recalled on Jan. 19, 2022 because a lab found it contained trace amounts of undeclared milk.