ELECTION: Many decisions to make Tuesday at polls

·4 min read

May 18—Local elections Tuesday will help shape the ballot for the General Election in November.

In Hazleton, Republicans will choose three candidates among Peter J. Andrasko, Stephen G. Goldian Jr., Mark Ondishin and James J. Perry to appear on the ballot for city council.

West Hazleton will choose three Democrats for borough council from Fermin J. Diaz, Gerald Grink, Maria Rodriguez and Bill Sharkey Jr.

Butler Twp. has two Republican races in the primary, as Brian Kisenwether is being challenged by Michael J. Reich for supervisor, and Nancy J. Frederick faces Michele A. Good for tax collector.

Wright Twp. has a three-way race for a supervisor seat among Republicans Justin Behrens, Michael G. Marshall and Candace Smith.

White Haven has two Democrats running for a four-year term on borough council, as Robert Lamson and John N. Zugarek are on the ballot.

Freeland has a contested race for tax collector among Democrats Mary Krone and James Laputka.

Carbon County

Summit Hill Democrats have a lot to consider, with races for mayor, borough council and tax collector on the ballot Tuesday.

Kevin M. Steber and Jeffrey J. Szczecina are seeking the nomination for mayor, while three candidates among Michael L. Alabovitz, Todd Konstas, William J. O'Gurek Jr. and Joseph F. Weber will advance to November for four-year borough council seats. Alabovitz, O'Gurek and Weber also appear on the ballot for a two-year seat. Lacey Gonzalez and Nathan R. Halenar are facing off for a tax collector nomination.

Lansford has a mayoral race for a November ballot spot between Democrats Joseph Butrie and Hugh Vrablic.

Banks Twp. Democrats will choose between David Mazur and Rick Porpiglia to advance for a six-year supervisors' seat.

Schuylkill County

Tamaqua has five Republicans seeking three spots on the November ballot for four-year terms on borough council, as well as a race for a two-year seat. Among those seeking four-year terms are Kathy Kunkel, Mary Linkevich, Richard Linkhorst, David E. Mace and Joe Salla. Jay A. Hollenbach Jr. and Kunkel are listed for the two-year spot.

Ringtown has Republican races for mayor, between Philip Beaver and Heather Leiby-Snyder, and a two-year council seat, between Michael Conley and Ian J. Murray.

A number of locales have contests among Republicans for six-year supervisor seats. Dennis J. Antonelli and Jill Careyva will face off in East Union Twp.

In Kline Twp., the race is between Michael Koshmieder and Anthony Vigna.

Rush Twp. has a choice between Frederick J. Lahovski Jr. and Robert Leibensperger.

Schuylkill Twp. will decide between Frank Fabrizio and Gary T. Feathers.

Mahanoy City has the lone Democratic race in Northern Schuylkill County, as Scott Kline and Thomas McCabe are both seeking a single four-year term on borough council.

School boards

Four advance to November from each party in Hazleton Area School District. Cross-filed candidates include Linda DeCosmo, Ive Eufracio-Childs, Gerald L. Feissner, Yesenia Rodriguez, Anthony Ryba, Ed Shemansky and Alexander van Hoekelen. Democrats will also have Amilcar S. Arroyo and Marilyn Calderon to choose from.

Weatherly Area is voting to fill four openings on its board from five cross-filed candidates: Kenneth Jacoby III, Shay McGee, Nancy Mulvaney, Barbara Sipler and Suzanne Wentzler.

Mahanoy Area will send four on to November's ballot from each party from six candidates who have cross-filed: Steven Gnall, John Honus, Larry Levy, Jim Mitchell, Karen E. Yedsena and Mary Fran Zack.

Seven people cross-filed for five openings on the North Schuylkill board. The cross-filed candidates are Tom Fletcher, Douglas R. Gressens, Suzanne A. O'Neill, Donna Salem, David Seresky, Janine M. Simms and Glenn H. Weist.

County races

Two potential judges for the Court of Common Pleas in Luzerne County will come out of five cross-filed candidates, including Jim Bobeck, Laura Dennis, Alexandra Kokura Kravitz, Stefanie Salavantis and Tarah Toohil.

Republicans will choose five Luzerne County Council candidates for November from a pool featuring Carl G. Bienias III, Martin L. Dartoe, Ronald D. Knapp, Kevin Lescavage, John Lombardo, Chris R. Perry, Brian Thornton, Michael G. Vacendak and Gregory S. Wolovich Jr.

Schuylkill County will see a race for magisterial district judge, 21-2-01, with six candidates cross-filed. They include Brandon Alexander, John Malinchok, Todd Selgrade, Edward J. Tarantelli, Scott E. Taylor and Tony J. Urban.

Carbon County has a Republican contest for clerk of courts between Tyra L. Boni and Sydney Wernett.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting