Bucshon files for another term, more file for local offices too

·2 min read

Jan. 18—Eighth District Congressman Larry Bucshon has filed as a candidate seeking reelection to the southwestern Indiana congressional seat.

Bucshon, who is also a medical doctor, has represented the district since 2011. He won the open seat when Democrat incumbent Brad Ellsworth gave it up in an unsuccessful run for the Senate. Currently he has no opposition for the primary and the Democrat party has yet to field a candidate.

Bucshon is on a rapidly filling Republican ballot for the May primary. State Senator Mark Messmer has filed for election to the newly drawn District 48 seat. Jeff Ellington who had been representing parts of northern Daviess County in the House District 62 seat as filed to run in the new House District 45.

On the Democrat side Teresa Kendall of Jasper has filed again as a candidate for the District 63 House seat.

More Republican candidates have filed in Daviess County including Dan Murrie for prosecuting attorney, incumbent Daviess County Council District 1 representative Darin Holder, Jon M. Hawthorne has filed to run for Reeve Township Trustee and William R. Killion is a Republican candidate for Veale Township Trustee.

So far, there have been no Democrat candidates to file for any of the local races.

That is a different story in Martin County where Democrat Commissioner Paul George has filed for reelection. Other candidates on the Martin County ballot so far are Tammy Jo Gore for Mitcheltree Township Trustee and Walter Holt who is running for the Shoals Town Council.

Martin County Republicans on the ballot so far are Julie Fithian for Martin County clerk, Josh Greene for Martin County sheriff, Carolyn Sue McGuire for county assessor, Jim Hamby for the District 2 seat on the Martin County Council and Andrew Beaver for the Council District 4 seat. Ann Marie Stewart has filed for Center Township trustee, Linda Willoughby is a Republican candidate for clerk-treasurer of the town of Crane. Ronald Baker, Henry Launders, and Charles H. Parcells have all filed as Republicans for the Crane Town Council At-Large seats.

The Shoals Town Council has three Republican candidates in Roger Lee Able, Jr., Cary D. Albright, and Richard (Rick) Gibbs.

Candidates have until the noon Feb. 4 to file for office.