• Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Watch Jeff Bezos launch to the edge of space on Blue Origin's first passenger flight

·1 min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
Jeff Bezos is seen speaking beside a photo of Blue Origin's New Shepard rocket lifting off.
Jeff Bezos is set to launch aboard the New Shepard rocket on July 20. Mandel Ngan/AFP via Getty Images; Blue Origin

Update: Jeff Bezos and his fellow passengers landed safely from their flight to the edge of space on July 20, 2021. Read more in our story.

Jeff Bezos, the richest person on Earth, is about to fly to the edge of space.

The billionaire founder of Amazon and Blue Origin is riding a New Shepard rocket up to the Kármán line - an imaginary boundary 62 miles (100 kilometers) above sea level, where many experts say space begins.

There, he's expected to experience weightlessness and stunning views of Earth for about three minutes.

The rocket is scheduled to lift off from Blue Origin's launch site in Texas at around 8 a.m. CT (9 a.m. ET) on Tuesday. The company is broadcasting the spaceflight live, in the video embedded below, starting at 6:30 a.m. CT (7:30 a.m. ET).

Read the original article on Business Insider

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting