Chemical weapons watchdog wins Nobel Peace Prize


The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons was announced as the winner of the 2013 Nobel Peace Prize on Friday, October 11, by Thorbjørn Jagland, Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee. It is tasked with ensuring the elimination of Syria’s chemical weapons and helped staff the UN inspection team that investigated the August 21 chemical weapons attacks in Damascus, with Scott Cairns leading the OPCW staff. Credit: Nobel Prize/OPCW