U.S. adds 116 countries to 'Do Not Travel' list

The United States this week added over 100 countries to its “Level Four: Do Not Travel” advisory list, including the UK, Canada, France, and Israel.

On Monday, theState Department said it would expand that list to curb visits from about 80 percent of countries worldwide.

Before Tuesday, only 34 countries were on the red list. Now it has 150.

The recommendations are not mandatory, and do not bar Americans from international travel.

Other countries like Finland, Egypt and Mexico were added to the “Do Not Travel” advisory, while others remained at a Level 3 recommendation of “Reconsider Travel,” like China and Japan.

As for entering the country, Washington has already barred nearly all non-U.S. citizens, if they've recently been in China, Brazil, Iran, South Africa, or most of Europe and on Tuesday, the U.S. extended its restrictions on non-essential travel across the Canada and Mexico borders.

The CDC said fully vaccinated people could travel safely within the U.S., but its director discouraged Americans from doing so, citing regional surges in cases.