Top-seeded Tsonga reaches 2nd round of China Open

View photos
France's Jo-Wilfried Tsonga reaches a ball as he plays Grigor Dimitrov of Bulgaria during a men's singles tennis match of the China Open tennis competitions at the National Stadium court in Beijing, China, Tuesday, Oct. 4, 2011. (AP Photo/Andy Wong)

BEIJING (AP) — Top-seeded Jo-Wilfried Tsonga reached the second round of the China Open by beating Grigor Dimitrov of Bulgaria 7-6 (7), 7-5 Tuesday, and top-ranked Caroline Wozniacki advanced by beating Jarmila Gajdosova of Australia 6-2, 6-3.

Tsonga finished the match with nine aces and improved to 3-0 against Dimitrov. He will next face Chinese qualifier Zhang Ze, who beat Li Zhe 6-1, 6-3.

"I didn't move really well, didn't hit the ball really good, but I was on the court with my head," said the seventh-ranked Frenchman, who won his first career match in Beijing in 2004. "The China Open is the story of my life."

Other men's winners included Albert Montanes of Spain, Philipp Kohlschreiber of Germany, Mikhail Youzhny of Russia, Fabio Fognini of Italy, Marcel Granollers of Spain, Ivan Ljubicic of Croatia and Thomas Berdych of the Czech Republic.

Wozniacki was never threatened against Gajdosova, who committed eight double-faults and had 19 unforced errors. The Dane will next meet Kaia Kanepi of Estonia. Kanepi beat Wozniacki last week in the third round of the Pan Pacific Open in Tokyo.

"The next match is a new match and we both start at zero-zero and I go out there and find out what I have and hopefully it will be enough," Wozniacki said.

Third-seeded Vera Zvonareva of Russia beat Klara Zakopalova of the Czech Republic 6-3, 4-6, 6-2, and Maria Kirilenko of Russia eliminated U.S. Open champion Samantha Stosur of Australia 7-5, 1-6, 7-5.

"I got more aggressive in the third set," said Zvonareva, who next plays unseeded Ana Invanoic of Serbia. "I wasn't waiting for her to make mistakes any more and started playing my game."

Also, Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova of Russia, Flavia Pennetta of Italy, Virginie Razzano of France, Marion Bartoli of France and Carla Suarez Navarro of Spain also won in the women's tournament.