State police designate snow emergency plan for Frederick County highways

Jan. 28—The Maryland State Police at Frederick Barrack B announced a snow emergency plan for Frederick County would be in effect starting at 2 p.m. on Friday.

According to a release from the state police, once a snow emergency plan is put into effect, state law requires motorists to operate vehicles equipped with snow tires or with chains.

A person may not park on any highway designated as a snow emergency route.

Currently, there is no word on when the snow emergency plan will be lifted, with the state police release saying media outlets would be contacted once road conditions improve to allow it to be lifted.

The following highways have been designated as snow emergency routes within Frederick County.

—US Route 15

—US Route 15 (Business)

—US Route 40

—US Route 40 (Alternate)

—US Route 340

—MD Route 17

—MD Route 26

—MD Route 27

—MD Route 28

—MD Route 31

—MD Route 75

—MD Route 76

—MD Route 79

—MD Route 80

—MD Route 85

—MD Route 140

—MD Route 144FA

—MD Route 180

—MD Route 194

—Interstate 70

—Interstate 270

Follow Patrick Kernan on Twitter: @PatKernan