Speaker Johnson survives Greene’s attempt to oust him. How NC lawmakers voted

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

House Speaker Mike Johnson could have met a similar fate to that of his predecessor had House members not rallied around to save his job Wednesday night.

On Wednesday, Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene, a Republican from Georgia, brought forward a motion to vacate the speakership.

That’s the same maneuver that Rep. Matt Gaetz, a Republican from Florida, used in October to oust former House Speaker Kevin McCarthy.

But 359 members of the U.S. House — both Democrats and Republicans — voted to save Johnson. That included all but one of North Carolina’s representatives. Rep. Valerie Foushee, a Democrat from Orange County, did not vote.

“I voted against firing the Speaker because we can’t capitulate to a few extreme members who are willing to throw Congress into chaos just to get more attention,” said Rep. Jeff Jackson, a Democrat from Charlotte, in a news release. “Now that we’ve defeated their latest stunt, I’m hopeful we can quickly move on and get some things done to actually serve the country.”

Greene has been threatening to take down Johnson for weeks after Congress passed a $95 billion foreign aid package to help Ukraine, Israel and Taiwan. Greene accused Johnson of betraying the Republican Party for allowing money to go to Ukraine, despite 101 House Republicans voting for its passage.

Since then, she has called for Johnson to either resign, meet her demands or face a motion to vacate.

She, Rep. Charles Massie, a Republican from Kentucky, and Johnson have held several meetings together over the past two days prior to Greene bringing the vote to the floor.

Democrats side with Republicans

Johnson told reporters he was not negotiating with her, and Democrats warned they would help Republicans maintain the House.

Former President Donald Trump weighed in, calling for Republicans to vote to table Greene’s motion.

After McCarthy was voted out last year, it threw Congress into three weeks of turmoil and Republican infighting. That left Rep. Patrick McHenry, a Republican from Lincoln County, running the House in the interim. McCarthy had named McHenry his successor in case something were to happen to him.

Democrats kept their promise Wednesday night.

Immediately after Greene brought her motion to the floor, House Majority Leader Steve Scalise motioned to table Greene’s bill, which would immediately kill it, if House members agreed to it.

In total, 359 members of the U.S. House voted to kill Greene’s bill and save Johnson’s job. Eleven Republicans voted against that maneuver, but none were from North Carolina.

How NC lawmakers voted

Here’s how North Carolina lawmakers voted:

  • Davis: Yes

  • Ross: Yes

  • Murphy: Yes

  • Foushee: Did not vote

  • Foxx: Yes

  • Manning: Yes

  • Rouzer: Yes

  • Bishop: Yes

  • Hudson: Yes

  • McHenry: Yes

  • Edwards: Yes

  • Adams: Yes

  • Nickel: Yes

  • Jackson: Yes