Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Saturday, May 10

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Saturday:

- - - -

MOTOR RACING

Formula One: Spanish Grand Prix, Barcelona (to 11)

Hamilton on pole for Spanish Grand Prix

BARCELONA - Lewis Hamilton put Mercedes on pole position for the Spanish Grand Prix on Saturday with a fourth successive win beckoning on Sunday. (MOTOR RACING-PRIX/ (PIX), moved, by Alan Baldwin, 600 words)

- - - -

SOCCER

World Cup (June 12-July 13)

We will bring you the latest news on the World Cup build-up with squad announcements, injury updates and the thoughts of coaches and players ahead of next month's finals.

- -

On the domestic soccer front we will keep you up to date with news and views from across Europe on a busy weekend as title races, relegation battles and the chase for Champions League and Europa League spots go down to the wire, including coverage of the Premier League, English Championship playoffs, La Liga, Bundesliga, Serie A and Ligue 1.

- -

La Liga

Spain's title chasing coaches preview penultimate round

MADRID - Atletico Madrid coach Diego Simeone and his counterparts from Barcelona and Real Madrid, Gerardo Martino and Carlo Ancelotti, hold news conferences previewing Sunday's penultimate round of La Liga matches. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX, TV) expect by 1400 GMT/10 AM ET, 500 words)

- -

Villarreal v Rayo Vallecano (1800)

Levante v Valencia (2000)

Copy on merit

- -

Serie A

Verona v Udinese (1600)

Inter Milan v Lazio (1845)

Inter great Zanetti hopes for last home action against Lazio

Fifth-placed Inter Milan, still in danger of missing out on European football for the second season in a row, host Lazio in what will be 40-year-old Javier Zanetti's last home appearance after 19 seasons at the club if he is picked by Walter Mazzarri. (SOCCER-ITALY/(PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Ligue 1 (1900 unless stated)

Ajaccio v Stade Reims

Girondins Bordeaux v Olympique Marseille

Evian Thonon Gaillard FC v Nice

En Avant Guingamp v Toulouse

Lille v Paris St Germain

Olympique Lyon v FC Lorient

Montpellier HSC v Bastia

Nantes v St Etienne

Stade Rennes v Sochaux

Valenciennes v AS Monaco

Lille need win over PSG to clinch Champions League spot

PARIS - Lille, who lead Saint-Etienne by five points with two matches left, need to beat Ligue 1 title winners Paris Saint Germain to clinch third and a Champions League spot while The Greens visit mid-table Nantes. (SOCCER-FRANCE (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 300 words)

- -

Bundesliga season, final day (1330 unless stated)

Bayer Leverkusen v Werder Bremen

Mainz v Hamburg SV

Hoffenheim v Eintracht Braunschweig

FC Augsburg v Eintracht Frankfurt

Bayern Munich v VfB Stuttgart

Schalke 04 v Nuremberg

Hanover 96 v Freiburg

Hertha Berlin v Borussia Dortmund

VfL Wolfsburg v Borussia Moenchengladbach

Quartet chase Champions League spots, lowly Hamburg battle

BERLIN - Schalke 04, Bayer Leverkusen, VfL Wolfsburg and Borussia Moenchengladbach are all fighting for the chance to play in the Champions League next season as the Bundesliga finale promises a nail-biting climax and a battle for Hamburg SV to avoid their first relegation. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect by 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 500 words)

- -

GOLF

Players Championship (to 11)

Ice-cool Kaymer stays out in front at the TPC Sawgrass

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Florida - Germany's Martin Kaymer takes a one-shot lead over American young gun Jordan Spieth into the third round at the TPC Sawgrass after carding a three-under-par 69 on Friday. Northern Ireland's former world number one Rory McIlroy and second-ranked Australian Adam Scott made the cut right on the number. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), expect first lead by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 500 words)

- -

Global game faces challenge to become more creative

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Florida - Tiger Woods is the world's top-earning athlete and tournaments still lure blue-chip sponsors and huge TV rights but golf is losing millions of players, prompting desperate new measures to stem the tide. (GOLF-CRISIS/ (PIX), expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 1,600 words)

- -

European Tour: Madeira Islands Open, Portugal (to 11)

Scores only

- - - -

RUGBY

Super Rugby round 13

Highlanders v Lions, Dunedin (0735)

Brumbies v Sharks, Canberra (0940)

Cheetahs v Force, Bloemfontein (1505)

Bulls v Stormers, Pretoria (1710)

(RUGBY-SUPER/, reports from each game)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP Madrid Open (to 11)

Nadal continues bid for 63rd career title against Bautista

MADRID - Rafa Nadal continues his quest for a 63rd career singles title and a 44th on clay, when he faces unseeded Spanish compatriot Roberto Bautista while countryman and fifth seed David Ferrer takes on 10th seed Kei Nishikori of Japan. (TENNIS-MEN/MADRID (PIX) expect by 1600 GMT/12 PM ET, 500 words)

- -

WTA Madrid Open (to 11)

Sharapova looking to hit top form on clay at Madrid Open

MADRID - Maria Sharapova, the Russian eighth seed who has had a poor year by her high standards, takes on third seed Agnieszka Radwanska while Petra Kvitova meets Simona Halep in a clash of the fifth and fourth seeds in the semi-finals. (TENNIS-WOMEN/MADRID (PIX) expect by 1430 GMT/ 10 AM PM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

CYCLING

Giro d'Italia (to June 1)

Canada's Tuft leads heading into stage two in Belfast

BELFAST - Canada's Svein Tuft holds the overall lead after his team, Orica Greenedge, won the opening time-trial before the riders tackle a fairly flat 218km second stage on Saturday starting and finishing in Belfast where a bunch sprint will decide the winner. (CYCLING-GIRO/ (PIX), 350 words)

- - - -

RALLYING

Rally of Argentina (to 11)

Copy on merit

- - - -

NBA

Heat, at Nets, bid to stay perfect in playoffs

League champions the Miami Heat go for their seventh consecutive playoff win of the season as they seek a 3-0 lead over the Brooklyn Nets in their best of seven series. (NBA-PLAYOFFS/NETS (PIX), expect by 0300 GMT/11:00 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

Spurs go for commanding lead over Trailblazers

The San Antonio Spurs bid for a 3-0 lead over the host Portland Trailblazers in their best of seven games Western Conference series. (NBA-PLAYOFFS/TRAILBLAZERS(PIX), expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- - - -

NHL

Bruins seek series lead over rival Canadiens

The Boston Bruins, after splitting their first four games with the rival Montreal Canadiens, return home seeking to gain the upper hand in their Eastern Conference playoff series. (NHL-PLAYOFFS/BRUINS (PIX), expect by 0200 GMT/10:00 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- -

Kings try to move closer to Southern California domination

The Los Angeles Kings bid for dominance in their Southern California playoff showdown with the visiting Anaheim Ducks, who trail 2-1 in the best of seven series. (NHL-PLAYOFFS/KINGS (PIX), expect by 0430 GMT/12:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 350 words)

- - - -

NFL

Draft on merit

- - - -

BASEBALL

Lyles goes for fifth win as Rockies visit Reds

Jordan Lyles goes for his fifth win without a loss when the Colorado Rockies, who also boost the majors' top two hitters, visit the Cincinnati Reds in one of 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 975 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words) (London duty editor: Justin Palmer)