1 / 26

Kevin Rudd Sworn In As Australian Prime Minister

CANBERRA, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 27: In this handout photo provided by the AUSPIC, Governor-General Quentin Bryce, Prime Minister Kevin Rudd and Therese Rein pose at Government House, on June 27, 2013 in Canberra, Australia. Kevin Rudd won an Australian Labor Party leadership ballot 57-45 last night, and was sworn in this morning as Australian Prime Minister by Governor-General Quentin Bryce. Rudd was Prime Minister from 2007 to 2010 before he was dumped by his party for his deputy Julia Gillard. Gillard has announced that she will leave parliament and not contest her seat following her ballot loss. (Photo by David Foote/AUSPIC via Getty Images)

Kevin Rudd sworn in as Australian PM

Three years after being ousted by former prime minister Julia Gillard, Kevin Rudd is now Australia's new PM. Rudd's victory may be short lived, though, as Australians will be heading to the polls in about three months, and the outlook is grim for his Labour Party.