There Are Now Only Seven Senate Democrats Opposing Gay Marriage

Michael Catalini
April 2, 2013

Delaware Sen. Tom Carper endorsed gay marriage this morning on Facebook, leaving only seven remaining Democratic senators who have yet to change their position on the issue. 

"All Americans ultimately should be free to marry the people they love and intend to share their lives with, regardless of their sexual orientation," Carper wrote. 

Carper's decision comes a day after his colleague from neighboring Pennsylvania, Sen. Bob Casey, announced his support for same-sex marriage.

Of the handful of Democrats in the Senate opposed to gay marriage, Carper stood out.  He was only one of two to represent a state President Obama carried in 2012 (the other is Florida's Bill Nelson).  It's the home of Vice President Joe Biden, who memorably announced his support for gay marriage even before Obama. Since elected in 2000, he's never faced serious opposition, winning in 2006 and 2012 by nearly 30 points. 

The remaining Senate Democrats who have not endorsed gay marriage are: Mark Pryor of Arkansas, Bill Nelson of Florida, Joe Donnelly of Indiana, Mary Landrieu of Louisiana, Heidi Heitkamp of North Dakota, Tim Johnson of South Dakota and Joe Manchin of West Virginia.  Johnson is retiring, but his son may run for his seat.