Election Results: Votes roll in for North Alabama Primary runoffs

Election Results: Votes roll in for North Alabama Primary runoffs

(WHNT) — Results are rolling in for Four Republican Primary races in three North Alabama counties that went to a runoff on Tuesday, April 16.

News 19 is Your Local Election Headquarters, and we are bringing you the election results and votes are tallied.

Click here for more from Your Local Election Headquarters!

You can find the results here:

You can learn a little bit more about each of these runoffs and their outcomes below.

DeKalb County Commission District 2

Brent Rhodes took on the incumbent Terry Harris in the DeKalb County District 2.

Harris was elected to the District 2 seat in 2020 after taking on then-incumbent Commissioner Scot Westbrook.

Rhodes political background includes a run to represent District 39 in the Alabama House of Representatives in 2022 where he was defeated by Representative Ginny Shaver.

On Super Tuesday, Rhodes garnered 40.71% of the vote while Harris tallied 35.72%.

In the run-off unofficial results show that Rhodes is projected to keep that lead, overtaking Harris with 680 votes or 51.59 percent. Harris received 638 votes or 48.41 percent.

Franklin County Commission District 1

Republicans Curtis Baker and Michael Murray are both running to take Chris Wallace’s seat on the Franklin County Commission.

District 1 in Franklin County covers the eastern-most part of the county.

Murray’s 29.55% of the vote put him into a runoff with Baker, who received 37.73% of the vote.

According to unofficial election results, Murray is projected to upset Baker with 904 votes or about 53.08 percent of the vote in the runoff. Baker received 799 votes or about 46.92 percent.

Franklin County Commission District 2

Heath Ayers and Greg Hovater face off in the runoff for the District 2 commission seat, which will be left vacant by current commissioner Jason Miller.

District 2 covers the east-central part of the county and includes the areas surrounding the county seat, Russellville, and Phil Campbell.

Ayers received over 25.33% of the vote on Super Tuesday, while Hovater received 42%.

Now in the runoff, Hovater is projected to win in the unofficial election results from Alabama’s Secretary of State’s Office. Hovater received 866 votes or 50.79 percent while Ayers received 839 votes or 49.21 percent.

Morgan County Commission District 3

Don Stisher, a six-term Morgan County commissioner, faced a runoff for the first time on Tuesday. The incumbent Stisher is going up against first-time candidate Matthew Frost.

District Three includes most of southern Morgan County, including Falkville and Eva. You can see a map of the district here.

Stisher received 38.86% of the vote, while Frost received 32.89%.

In the biggest upset of the night, unofficial results show Frost projected to reverse Stisher’s lead in the runoff. Frost received 2,886 or 75.27 percent of the vote while Stisher received 948 votes or 24.73 percent.

You can read more about that race and Frost’s reaction here.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. If you still need to check your polling location, you can do that here!

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to WHNT.com.