These NC DMV fees are set to increase starting July 1

RALEIGH, N.C. (WNCN) — Starting July 1, a number of N.C. Division of Motor Vehicle fees will increase.

State law requires the DMV to adjust fees and rates every four years, based on the percentage change in the annual Consumer Price Index during the past four years. This year, about 90 license and registration-related fees will increase by 19.18%.

The NCDMV says examples of the changes include a $1 per year increase for a regular driver license. Currently, the fee is $5.50 for each year of the license, which is issued for five or eight years. Under the new structure, a five-year license will go up $5 and an eight-year license will increase by $8.


North Carolina News

Sheetz gas station hires K-9 units for 3 North Carolina locations: Here’s why

23-year-old man shot and killed at Hickory car wash identified by police

3 women charged in connection to joint prostitution investigation at Statesville, Monroe spas

The issuance of a learner’s permit and a provisional license will increase by $4 overall, with a duplicate license increasing by $2.75.

Fees are also going up slightly for commercial driver licenses, copies of driving records, and several other license related processes, according to the NCDMV.

For regular private passenger vehicle registrations, the annual fee will go from $38.75 to $46.25.

Registrations for commercial vehicles, motorcycles, for hire vehicles, house trailers, low-speed vehicles and electric vehicle fees are among others that will also increase.

The complete list of fee changes can be found here.

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to Queen City News.