Milwaukee Ald. Khalif Rainey will not seek re-election, third alderman to leave next year

Ald. Khalif Rainey, who represents the 7th District, speaks at a council meeting.
Ald. Khalif Rainey, who represents the 7th District, speaks at a council meeting.

A third member of the Milwaukee Common Council has announced he will not seek re-election this spring.

Ald. Khalif Rainey, who has represented District 7 in the central city since he was elected to the seat in 2016, said in a statement that he would not seek another term.

He said he had worked with colleagues and community members to create legislation he thought would fulfill a promise to serve the community, including requiring equity impact statements on city policies, allowing people with felony convictions to buy city-owned property and more.

"We created 'Hip Hop Week MKE,' a celebration of an art form I care very deeply about, and raised Milwaukee’s place in it to national notice," he said in the statement. "We also created an Office of African-American affairs to acknowledge and directly address the unique problems of a community so long plagued by racism, both open and systemic."

He thanked constituents, saying, "Your prayers and encouragement were sometimes the only things that kept me going," in addition to thanking others at City Hall.

Before his election to the Common Council, Rainey served on the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors and as an aide to U.S. Rep. Gwen Moore.

As of mid-day Wednesday, five candidates were listed on a Milwaukee Election Commission spreadsheet as having filed papers to run for the seat.

They are:

  • Jessica Currie, a community organizer and founder of the nonprofit Missionary Currie for Women and Children.

  • Kenneth Hughes, who describes himself as a pastor and businessman.

  • DiAndre Jackson, a longtime Master Lock employee and active United Auto Workers member.

  • Randy Jones, founder of the nonprofit Staying On Track Inc.

  • Taryn Webb, a member of the Board of Directors at Sojourner Family Peace Center.

Alds. Michael Murphy and Mark Borkowski previously announced they would not seek re-election next year.

The three departures follow those from five other council seats in 2022.

The spring primary is scheduled for Feb. 20 with the general election on April 2.

Alison Dirr can be reached at

This article originally appeared on Milwaukee Journal Sentinel: Milwaukee Ald. Khalif Rainey will not seek re-election, five seek seat