Mercer County Schools names 2024-2025 Teacher of the Year

PRINCETON, WV (WVNS) — Mercer County Schools named the 2024-2025 Teacher of the Year at a banquet on Tuesday, April 30, 2024.

The banquet recognized those who were nominated for Teacher of the Year from schools across the county.

Raleigh County ranks first in Jennings Randolph Award-winning schools in West Virginia

Kimberly Yahya, a 4th grade teacher at Athens Elementary, was named the 2024-2025 Mercer County Teacher of the Year by Superintendent Edward Toman.

  • Photo Courtesy: Mercer County Schools
    Photo Courtesy: Mercer County Schools
  • Photo Courtesy: Mercer County Schools
    Photo Courtesy: Mercer County Schools

Mrs. Yahya is a constant burst of positivity within our school. She is always willing to share a smile and a story about something that brightens the day down the fourth-grade hallway. She ensures her students are always engaged and learning, and every time anyone enters her room, they can immediately tell that teaching is her passion. She sings, she dances, and she has even been known to do a cartwheel! Our 4th grade has recently departmentalized, therefore, after many years of teaching all subjects, she now primarily teaches math to all 4th graders. She has poured all her energy into becoming an exemplary math teacher. This year, Mrs. Yahya has been an active trainer for Mercer County’s Mathematical Mindsets and a member of the state’s Unite with Numeracy Team. Every year, she builds strong bonds with her students that last a lifetime. or example, this relationship is evident by the fact that every year she cries during our graduation walk with seniors because those are “her kids”, and she is always the first teacher they want to see.

Principal Shelley Weiss

Concord University and Eastern West Virginia Community and Technical College partner to broaden nursing education in WV

The Mercer County Teacher of the Year for 2023-2024, Angela Wilson, was the was Mistress of Ceremonies, and former Teacher of the Year, Michelle Martin, helped announce those who were nominated when they went to get their plaques.

Mercer County Board of Education President Greg Prudich, Vice President Jacinda Santon-Smith, and members Jim Bailey, Paul Hodges, Mark Godfrey, and Superintendent Edward Toman were also in attendance to recognize the nominees for the Teacher of the Year award.

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to WVNS.