Kansas State Wildcats reveal star-studded group for Ring of Honor football induction

Six of the best Kansas State football players in recent memory will have their names immortalized on the Ring of Honor inside Bill Snyder Family Stadium next season.

It’s hard to imagine a more star-studded group of former playmakers.

Here’s the list:

  • Arthur Brown (linebacker 2011-12)

  • Larry Brown (running back 1967-68)

  • Darren Howard (defensive end 1996-99)

  • Collin Klein (quarterback 2009-12)

  • Tyler Lockett (wide receiver 2011-14)

  • Ell Roberson (quarterback 2000-03)

The Wildcats’ 2022 Ring of Honor class will be honored during the season-opener against South Dakota on Sept. 3.

In all, the group includes 31 All-America citations, four Big 12 champions and one Heisman Trophy finalist.

“Each of these men hold a special place in the history of our program, and it will be an honor to be a part of their induction into our Ring of Honor,” K-State coach Chris Klieman said in a statement. “Their hard work and achievements on the field are well-documented, and we are excited to welcome them back to Manhattan for a special induction weekend.”

Five of the new inductees played for former K-State coach Bill Snyder.

“As with past classes, I am truly honored to have coached five of these special young men who continue to represent Kansas State University in a special manner,” Snyder said. “They are men of character, great leaders, talented football players and great representatives of their highly successful football program.”

The K-State football Ring of Honor will consist of 20 players.

The new group will join Lynn Dickey (quarterback 1968-70), Steve Grogan (quarterback 1972-74), Jaime Mendez (defensive back 1990-93), Sean Snyder (punter 1991-92), Gary Spani (linebacker 1974-77), Veryl Switzer (running back 1951-53), David Allen (1997-2000), Martin Gramatica (kicker 1994-98), Terence Newman (defensive back 1999-2002), Mark Simoneau (linebacker 1996-99), Michael Bishop (quarterback 1997-98), Jordy Nelson (wide receiver 2005-08), Clarence Scott (defensive back 1968-70) and Darren Sproles (running back 2000-04).