India to bowl first vs. Afghanistan in Asia Cup

MIRPUR, Bangladesh (AP) — India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and decided to bowl first against Afghanistan in an inconsequential match of the Asia Cup on Wednesday, with Sri Lanka and Pakistan having already made the final of the five-team tournament.

India decided to go in unchanged with captain Kohli stressing that they "need to be patient" with the side, which is without regular captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni due to an injury.

Afghanistan made one change, bringing in Rahmat Shah for Hamza Kotak.

India and Afghanistan have both won only one game in the tournament, with wins over host Bangladesh.

The final is scheduled for Saturday.



India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (captain), Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami.

Afghanistan: Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Asghar Stanikzai, Nawroz Mangal, Mohammad Nabi (captain), Samiullah Shenwari, Najibullah Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Mirwais Ashraf, Shapoor Zadran, Dawlat Zadran.