Gov. Jeff Landry signs new Supreme Court map with second Black-majority district bill into law

BATON ROUGE, La. (BRPROUD) – Gov. Jeff Landry has signed a bill to draw a new Louisiana Supreme Court map and create a second majority-Black district out of seven districts into law.

SB255 passed with a vote of 85-9 out of the house on Wednesday, April 24. The bill splits the state into seven Supreme Court districts, each with one justice to be elected.

“Today, we fulfilled our responsibility and ensured the people of Louisiana will have a fair, democratic and equally representative judiciary. I appreciate Senator Cleo Fields, Attorney General Liz Murrill, the Supreme Court justices, Representative Mike Johnson and the members of the Black Caucus for their hard work on this bill,” said Landry.

New districts in the Greater Baton Rouge area, according to SB255

District 1 includes Livingston Parish along with parts of Orleans, St. Bernard St. Tammany, Tangipahoa and Washington parishes.

District 2 is composed of Avoyelles, Concordia, part of East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, East Feliciana and Iberville parishes. It also includes part of Lafayette, Madison, part of Ouachita, Pointe Coupee, St. Helena, St. Landry, Tensas, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana parishes.

District 6 includes part of Ascension Parish. It also includes Assumption, some of East Baton Rouge, part of Jefferson, a portion of Orleans, Plaquemines, part of St. James and some of St. John the Baptist parishes.

District 7 includes parts of Ascension, Jefferson, Orleans, St. Charles, St. James and St. John the Baptist.

What’s next after federal judges throw out new Louisiana Congressional map?

Latest News

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to