Florence + the Machine to release MTV Unplugged album

AFP Relax News
Florence Welch arrives for the 53rd Annual Grammy Awards.

English band Florence + The Machine, fronted by flame-haired fashion icon Florence Welch, will release an MTV Unplugged acoustic live album next month.

Announced last Friday, the album was recorded during a performance on December 16 in New York City, featuring Welch, three members of her band, and a 10-piece gospel choir playing an 11-song set.

The new album -- the band's first live LP -- features a slew of hits from their recent album Ceremonials, as well as two covers: Otis Redding's "Try A Little Tenderness" and "Jackson," the Jerry Leiber and Billy Edd Wheeler tune famously performed by Johnny Cash and June Carter. For the duet, Welch teamed up with Queens of the Stone Age frontman Josh Homme.

The album's tracklisting is as follows:

1. "Only If For A Night"
2. "Drumming Song"
3. "Cosmic Love"
4. "Breaking Down"
5. "Never Let Me Go"
6. "Try A Little Tenderness"
7. "No Light No Light"
8. "Jackson" (feat. Josh Homme)
9. "What The Water Gave Me"
10. "Dog Days Are Over"
11. "Shake It Out"

The album releases on April 9 on Island Records in both CD and digital formats.