Early voting in Fayetteville and Cumberland County starts today: Here's what you need to know

Early voting starts today in Cumberland County.
Early voting starts today in Cumberland County.

Early voting starts Thursday for the primary election with local, state and federal races on the ballot.

Voters will go to the polls to cast ballots for races that include the mayor and City Council in Fayetteville, commissioners in Cumberland County, state House and Senate, Congress and U.S. Senate.

Voters' Guide: U.S. House candidates talk inflation, education, work shortage

Voters' Guide: Cumberland District Court judge candidates talk philosophy, fairness

Early voting ends May 14, with the primary scheduled for May 17. The seven sites in Cumberland County are open today and tomorrow from 8 a.m. to 7:30 p.m., Saturday from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m., and Sunday from 2-5 p.m.

Beginning next week, the sites are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. and on May 14 from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

The early voting sites, according to a statement released by county officials, are at:

• Kiwanis Recreation Center, 352 Devers St., Fayetteville,

• Cliffdale Recreation Center, 6404 Cliffdale Road, Fayetteville,

• College Lakes Recreation Center, 4945 Rosehill Road, Fayetteville,

• East Regional Library, 4809 Clinton Road, Fayetteville,

• J.D. Pone Recreation Center, 2964 School Road, Hope Mills,

• Smith Recreation Center, 1520 Slater Ave., Fayetteville, and

• Stoney Point Recreation Center, 7411 Rockfish Road, Hope Mills.

Voters can cast a ballot at any early voting site in their county, according to a statement from the state Board of Elections. Residents who missed the April 22 regular voter registration deadline can register and vote at the same time during the early voting period, it said.

The Fayetteville Observer's online voters' guide has information from candidates who responded to questionnaires.

In Fayetteville, Mayor Mitch Colvin faces four challengers: Freddie de la Cruz, Clifton Johnson, J. Antoine Miner and Franco Webb.

Voters' Guide: Fayetteville mayoral candidates on crime, development, joint projects

Mayor Pro Tem Kathy Jensen, who is seeking reelection to her District 1 seat on the City Council, is being challenged by William Milbourne III and Alex Rodriguez.

In District 2, Councilwoman Shakeyla Ingram filed for reelection and faces challenges from Janene Ackles, Joseph Dewberry, J.V. Peterson and Tyrone Williams.

Councilman Antonio B. Jones, who was appointed to the District 3 seat in December, is running against Bill Ayerbe, Mario Benavente, Kurin Keys and John Zimmerman.

Councilman D.J. Haire is seeking to keep his District 4 seat. Challenging him are William Grantham and Thomas C. Greene.

In District 5, Councilman Johnny Dawkins faces challenger Frederick LaChance.

Voters' Guide: Fayetteville City Council districts 1-5

Peter Pappas, Joy Marie Potts and Derrick Thompson are vying to fill the open District 6 seat. Councilman Chris Davis, who now holds the seat, is seeking a state House of Representatives seat.

In District 7, Councilman Larry Wright faces challenges from Brenda McNair and Myahtaeyarra “Myah” Warren.

Councilwoman Courtney Banks-McLaughlin is seeking reelection to her District 8 seat and is running against Michael Pinkston.

In District 9, Councilwoman Yvonne Kinston has three challengers – John Czajkowski, Deno Hondros and Sonya Renita Massey.

Voters' Guide: Fayetteville City Council districts 6-9

In the race for two at-large seats on the Cumberland County Board of Commissioners, six Democrats are running. Marshal Faircloth, Veronica Jones, incumbent Larry Lancaster, Jackie Paul-Ray, Ronald Pittman and Paul Taylor will be in the May primary.

Voters' Guide: Cumberland commissioners candidates on schools, city relationship, Chemours

The two winners of the Democratic primary will face two Republicans — N.C. Rep. John Szoka and Ron Ross — in the November general election.

Cumberland County Sheriff Ennis Wright faces Lester A. Lowe in the Democratic primary. The winner will face Republican LaRue Windham in November.

Voters' Guide: Cumberland County candidate for sheriff on crime, bail reform

In state elections, Sen. Kirk deViere is being challenged in the District 19 Democratic primary by former City Councilwoman Val Applewhite and Ed Donaldson. Dennis Britt and former state Sen. Wesley Meredith are running in the Republican primary.

Voters' Guide: NC Senate candidates on Medicaid, law enforcement reform, education

In the state House District 42 race, Rep. Marvin Lucas faces a challenge in the Democratic primary from Naveed Aziz. Gloria Carrasco is the only Republican running for the seat.

State Rep. Diane Wheatley is running against Clarence W. Goins Jr. in the Republican primary for the District 43 seat. Prince Christian, former state Rep. Elmer Floyd and Kimberly Hardy are running in the Democratic primary.

Voters' Guide: NC House candidates on Medicaid, global economy and education

In the District 44 state House race, Terry L. Johnson Sr. and Charles Smith are running in the Democratic primary. No Republican filed to run.

Keith Byrd, Fayetteville City Councilman Chris Davis and Frances Jackson are running in the Democratic primary for the District 45 seat. The winner will face Republican Susan Chapman in the general election.

Judicial, congressional and U.S. Senate seats also are being contested in the primary.

Huge savings: $1 for 3 months

Subscribe today to support local journalism and enjoy unlimited digital access including videos, apps, sports news, and more. Special introductory offer for new subscribers only.

Local news editor Steve DeVane can be reached at sdevane@fayobserver.com or 910-486-3572.

This article originally appeared on The Fayetteville Observer: What you need to know: Early voting in Fayetteville, Cumberland County