Central Ohio schools with closures and early releases for the solar eclipse

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WCMH) – For the first time since 1806, Ohio will be in the direct path of a total solar eclipse. Numerous central Ohio schools will close or release early to give students the chance to view the once-in-a-lifetime event.

The solar eclipse, which occurs when the path of the moon crosses directly in front of the sun, will happen on April 8. Many parts of the state will be in total darkness for a few minutes during the afternoon. The remainder of the state will see the sun at least 95% blocked by the moon.

The eclipse can only be safely viewed with specialized eye protection, and certain parts of central Ohio will be better for viewing the eclipse than others. The following school districts will be closed or will have an early release on April 8.

Crawford County

Buckeye Central Local School District (No school)

Colonel Crawford Local Schools (No school)

Crestline Exempted Village School District (No school)

Northmor Local School District (No school)

Wynford Local School District (No school)

Delaware County

Buckeye Valley Local Schools (No school)

Delaware City Schools (No school)

Olentangy Schools (No school)

Fairfield County

Pickerington Local School District (No school)

Franklin County

Bexley City Schools (Early release)

Canal Winchester Local Schools (Early release)

Columbus City Schools (No school)

Dublin City Schools (No school)

Gahanna-Jefferson Public Schools (On spring break)

Hamilton Local Schools (No school)

Hilliard City Schools (No school)

New Albany-Plain Local Schools (No school)

Reynoldsburg City Schools (No school)

South-Western City Schools (Early release)

Upper Arlington City Schools (Early release)

Westerville City Schools (No school)

Hardin County

Hardin Northern Local School District (No school)

Kenton City Schools (On spring break)

Upper Scioto Valley School District (No school)

Knox County

Centerburg Local Schools (No school)

Fredericktown Local Schools District (No school)

Mount Vernon City School District (No school)

Licking County

Granville Exempted Village Schools (No school)

Madison County

Jonathan Alder Local School District (No school)

London City School District (Early release)

Marion County

Elgin Local Schools (No school)

Marion City Schools (No school)

Pleasant Local Schools (No school)

Ridgedale Local Schools (No school)

River Valley Local Schools (No school)

Morrow County

Cardington-Lincoln Local Schools (No school)

Highland Local Schools (No school)

Mount Gilead Exempted Village Schools (No school)

Union County

Marysville Exempted Village School District (No school)

North Union Local School District (No school)

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to NBC4 WCMH-TV.