Can you bring legal weed from another state back to NC? Here’s what the law says

North Carolina legislators are considering a bill that would make marijuana legal for medical purposes. Currently, it is illegal to use weed in the state.

But the Compassionate Care Act, which currently sits in the House, would allow marijuana use statewide for people who have cancer, ALS, Parkinson’s disease or other ailments, The News & Observer reported.

Currently, 37 states, including Virginia, and the District of Columbia within driving distance of North Carolina allow the medical use of cannabis products, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures.

Here’s what to know about North Carolina’s marijuana laws.

What does the law say about marijuana use in NC?

Marijuana is a controlled substance in North Carolina, and possession of it is illegal, according to state law. The penalty for possessing marijuana in North Carolina depends on the type, how much you have and how you plan to use it.

The following marijuana offenses are misdemeanors, according to state law:

  • Possession of up to 1.5 ounces of marijuana for personal use

  • Possession of up to 0.15 ounces of hash or concentrates

  • Use, possession, sale, delivery or manufacture of paraphernalia

If you’re charged with a misdemeanor, you could serve up to 45 days in jail and pay a $1,000 fine, per North Carolina law.

Marijuana possession becomes a felony charge when someone has more than 1.5 ounces for personal use or intends to distribute, sell or grow the substance.

Punishment for marijuana-related felony offenses ranges from up to eight months in prison for possession, to a maximum of 219 months in prison and a $200,000 fine for selling or delivering the substance, according to Raleigh-based Manning Law Firm.

What happens if you’re caught crossing NC state lines with weed?

If you’re caught with weed in North Carolina, you could be charged with possession of marijuana, which is a misdemeanor in most cases.

But those caught with more than 10 pounds of marijuana could be charged with felony drug trafficking, according to state law. Marijuana trafficking convictions in North Carolina can result in a minimum of 25 months in prison and a fine of $5,000.

What happens if you’re caught with weed at an NC airport?

Transportation Security Administration officers “do not search for illegal drugs, but if any illegal substance is discovered during security screening, TSA will refer the matter to a law enforcement officer,” the agency’s website says.

Under federal law, TSA officers are required to report any violations of the law to local, state or federal authorities.

Can NC residents purchase weed in other states?

North Carolina residents can purchase legal recreational and medical marijuana in other states.

In Virginia, adults over the age of 21 are allowed to grow and consume marijuana, but there’s no way to buy it legally in the state. However, sharing less than one ounce of marijuana between people who are over 21 is legal, according to the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority.

Can you consume marijuana and then travel back to NC?

North Carolina residents can consume marijuana in other states and then drive back home, as long as they don’t drive while under the influence.

Driving “while under the influence of an impairing substance” is illegal in North Carolina, according to state law.

A first-time DWI offense is punishable by a fine of up to $4,000 and a minimum jail sentence of 30 days, according to First Step Services, a North Carolina-based rehab center.