Debate moderators announced: Crowley, Lehrer, Schieffer, Raddatz

Dylan Stableford
The Ticket

With the participants finally set, the moderators of the 2012 presidential and vice presidential debates were announced on Monday.

PBS' Jim Lehrer will moderate the first presidential debate on Oct. 3 at the University of Denver.

Candy Crowley, host of CNN's "State of the Union," will host the second—a town-hall format—on Oct. 16 at Hofstra University in Hempstead, N.Y.

CBS News' Bob Schieffer—who snagged the first joint interview with Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan on Sunday—will moderate the third presidential debate, Oct. 22 in Boca Raton, Fla.

Martha Raddatz, ABC News' chief foreign correspondent, will host the lone vice presidential debate on Oct. 11 in Danville, Ky.

The moderator lineup was first reported by the Drudge Report.

Both Lehrer and Schieffer moderated debates between Barack Obama and John McCain in 2008.

Crowley will be the first woman in over 20 years to moderate a presidential debate. ABC News' Carole Simpson, who served as moderator of a 1992 debate between Bill Clinton, George H.W. Bush and Ross Perot, was the last woman to do so.

Earlier this year, three high school students from Montclair, N.J., launched a petition calling for the Commission on Presidential Debates to select a female moderator for at least one of the three 2012 presidential debates.