Citizen co-chairs to take part in president’s inauguration

Rachel Rose Hartman

Eight Americans have been chosen to serve as co-chairs of the president's inauguration, the Presidential Inaugural Committee announced Thursday.

They will volunteer during the National Day of Service Saturday, Jan. 19; take part in the inaugural ceremonies as part of the parade, riding on the Our People, Our Future float; and attend the inaugural ball.

Details about the co-chairs, via the committee:

-Ida Edwards, Virginia: a retired nurse who lived through the Civil Rights movement

-Erica Chain, California: at 27, Chain was diagnosed with a brain tumor and now has health insurance coverage under Obamacare

-Lily Griego, Colorado: a single working mother who has received Pell Grants for her son

-Kenyetta Jones, Ohio: a GM employee who was laid off but later rehired following the auto bailout

-Liz McCartney, Louisiana: founded a nonprofit to assist disaster-impacted communities

-Rob Hach, Iowa: a small business owner in the renewable energy field

-David Hall, Washington, D.C.: Air Force veteran disenrolled for "homosexual conduct"

-Taylor Morris, Iowa: Purple Heart recipient and Navy veteran