Andrea Salinas, Mike Erickson win Oregon District 6 primaries

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

PORTLAND, Ore. (KOIN) — Democratic incumbent Andrea Salinas and Republican challenger Mike Erickson will face off in the November general election after winning their primary elections May 21, as called by the Associated Press.

As of 10 p.m., Salinas secured over 87% of the vote with her Democratic primary challenger Cody Reynolds garnering over 11% of the vote with more than 37,000 votes counted.

Republican Mike Erickson secured over 74% of the vote in the Republican primary, followed by David Russ with over 20%, David Burch over 2.9%, and Conrad J. Herold with 1.34% as of 10 p.m.

In a post on X, formerly Twitter, Salinas said she is “honored” to be the Democratic nominee.

“From addressing the fentanyl crisis to bringing down the cost of living, I’m fighting for the issues that Oregonians care about most,” Salinas said. “Now let’s win in November and continue to build on that progress.”

The Sixth District includes Polk and Yamhill counties, as well as parts of Marion, Clackamas, and Washington counties.

Salinas won the seat during the 2022 midterm election for Oregon’s newly created District, defeating Republican Mike Erickson, a businessman.

A population boom made Oregon one of just six states to gain a House seat following the 2020 census. The state’s population jumped by more than 10% in the past decade to more than 4.2 million people, giving it a new congressional district for the first time in 40 years.

Oregon 2024 Primary Election Results

Salinas’ Democratic challenger, Cody Reynolds, is a graduate of the United States Military Academy at West Point, with a career background in military and finance.

Republican challenger David Russ previously served as mayor of Dundee and was a city council member for the city. He also serves on the Yamhill County Parkway Committee, Dundee’s Urban Renewal Agency, and the Yamhill County Local Public Safety Coordinating Council.

Ballots for Oregon’s primary election must be dropped off by 8 p.m. Tuesday, May 21, or postmarked by midnight.

This is a developing story. Stay with KOIN 6 News for primary election updates.

Copyright 2024 Nexstar Media, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to