Alden Richards big winner at PMPC Star Awards

The actor-singer wins two accolades in the music category but didn't attend the event

25 Oct - Although he was absent from the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) Star Awards for Music and Television, Alden Richards was named one of the big winners of the music category that night, alongside singer Darren Espanto.

As reported on Rappler News, the singer, whose album was certified Diamond Record earlier this month, won the awards for Pop Album of the Year and Best Pop Artist – the latter he shared with Espanto, who also won Best Album Cover.

Richards has yet to respond to his double win at the time of writing.

This year, the PMPC Awards combined both the Music and Television awards into one evening, and held the event at the Novotel in Cubao on 23 October.

The winners are as follows:


Best TV Station: ABS-CBN 2

Best Primetime Drama Series:
"FPJ'S Ang Probinsyano"

Best Daytime Series:
"Doble Kara (ABS-CBN 2)"

Best Drama Actress:
Jennylyn Mercado – "My Faithful Husband"

Best Drama Actor:
Coco Martin – "FPJ's Ang Probinsyano"

Best Comedy Actress:
Manilyn Reynes – "Pepito Manaloto"

Best Comedy Actor:
Jose Manalo – "Hay, Bahay!"

Best Drama Supporting Actress:
Sunshine Dizon – "Little Nanay"

Best Drama Supporting Actor:
Arjo Atayde – "FPJ'S Ang Probinsyano"
Arron Villaflor – "All Of Me"

Best Child Performer:
Mcneal "Awra" Briguela – "FPJ's ang Probinsyano"

Best New Female TV Personality:
Ria Atayde – "MMK – Puno Ng Mangga Of Love"

Best New Male Personality:
Jake Ejercito – "God Gave Me You"
Simon "Onyok" Pineda – "FPJ's Ang Probinsyano"

Best Drama Anthology:
"Ipaglaban Mo"

Best Single Performance by an Actress:
Claudine Barretto ("MMK – Itak" / ABS-CBN)

Best Single Performance by an Actor:
Kristoffer Martin ("Magpakailanman - Mag-ama Sa Bilangguan" / GMA)

Best Service Program Host:
Julius Babao – "Mission Possible" / ABS-CBN

Best Gag Show:
"Goin' Bulilit" (ABS-CBN)

Best Comedy Show:
"Pepito Manaloto" (GMA)

Best Musical Variety Show:

Best Variety Show:
"Sunday Pinasaya" (GMA)

Best Female TV Host:
Anne Curtis ("It's Showtime" / ABS-CBN)

Best Male TV Host:
Luis Manzano ("ASAP" / ABS-CBN)

Best Game Show:
"Wowowin" (GMA)

Best Game Show Host:
Luis Manzano ("Kapamilya Deal Or No Deal" / ABS-CBN)

Best Talent Search Program:
"Starstruck" (GMA)

Best Talent Search Program Host:
Luis Manzano, Robi Domingo, Kim Chiu ("The Voice Kids 3" / ABS-CBN)

Best Celebrity Talk Show:
"Tonight With Boy Abunda" (ABS-CBN)

Best Celebrity Talk Show Host:
Boy Abunda – "Tonight With Boy Abunda" / ABS-CBN


Music Video of the Year:
"Wag Kang Pabebe" by Vice Ganda (Director: Jasper Salimbangon)

Concert of the Year:
Love Catcher by Lani Misalucha

Male Concert Performer of the Year:
Martin Nievera (Royals)

Female Concert Performer of the Year:
Sarah Geronimo (From The Top)

Male Recording Artist of the Year:
Jed Madela (Iconic/Star Music)

Female Recording Artist of the Year:
Jolina Magdangal (Back To Love/Star Music)

Best New Male Recording Artist of the Year:
Derrick Monasterio (Derrick Monasterio/ GMA Records)
Idolito dela Cruz (Ngayong Nandito Ka/ DB Energy Music Co.)

Best New Female Recording Artist of the Year:
Janella Salvador (Janella Salvador/Star Music)

Pop Album of the Year:
WINNER: Alden Richards (Wish I May/GMA Records)

Male Pop Artist of the Year:
Alden Richards (Wish I May/GMA Records)
Darren Espanto (Be With Me/MCA Music)

Female Pop Artist of the Year:
Marion (Marion/Star Music)

DUO/Group of the Year:
T.O.P. (Top One Project/GMA Records)

Rock Album of the Year:
"Avalon Beyond" by Avalon Beyond (Pulp Live Records)

Rock Artist of the Year:
Bamboo ("Bless This Mess" /Polyeast Records)

Cover Design of the Year:
Darren Espanto ("Be With You" /MCA Music)

Parangal Levi Celerio Award:
Vic del Rosario Jr, Viva Entertainment Corporation

Pilita Corales Lifetime Achievement Award:

(Photo source: