31 Democrats vote to keep Santos in Congress

31 Democrats vote to keep Santos in Congress
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

A total of 31 Democrats joined 182 Republicans in voting to keep Rep. George Santos (R-N.Y.) in Congress on Wednesday, killing a Republican-led effort to oust the embattled lawmaker.

The lower chamber voted 213-179-19 against a resolution to expel Santos, marking the second unsuccessful attempt this year to eject the first-term lawmaker from the House. A two-thirds threshold is needed to expel a member of Congress.

A total of 31 Democrats and 182 Republicans voted against the resolution, while 24 Republicans and 155 Democrats voted to expel Santos.

The effort to oust Santos was spearheaded by a group of fellow first-term New York Republicans — led by Rep. Anthony D’Esposito — who moved last week to force a vote to expel Santos in the wake of his mounting legal battles. D’Esposito called the legislation to the floor as a privileged resolution, a procedural gambit that forces leadership to set a vote within two legislative days.

Santos faces a total of 23 federal charges ahead of his trial, slated to begin in September 2024.

He pleaded not guilty last week to a set of 10 new criminal charges in a superseding indictment alleging he inflated his campaign finance reports and charged his donors’ credit cards without authorization.

In May, he was charged on 13 counts of misleading donors, fraudulently receiving unemployment benefits and lying on House financial disclosures.

Santos admitted earlier this year to embellishing parts of his background while campaigning, but he has reiterated he will not resign, despite his legal troubles.

Here are the 31 Democratic House members who voted to keep Santos in Congress:

  • Rep. Colin Allred (Texas)

  • Rep. Jake Auchincloss (Mass.)

  • Rep. Ed Case (Hawaii)

  • Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (Mo.)

  • Rep. Henry Cuellar (Texas)

  • Rep. Sharice Davids (Kan.)

  • Rep. Chris Deluzio (Penn.)

  • Rep. Lizzie Fletcher (Texas)

  • Rep. Jared Golden (Maine)

  • Rep. Jim Himes (Conn.)

  • Rep. Steven Horsford (Nev.)

  • Rep. Jeff Jackson (N.C.)

  • Rep. Hank Johnson (Ga.)

  • Rep. Rick Larsen (Wash.)

  • Rep. Susie Lee (Nev.)

  • Rep. Zoe Lofgren (Calif.)

  • Rep. Seth Magaziner (R.I.)

  • Rep. Morgan McGarvey (Ky.)

  • Rep. Rob Menendez (N.J.)

  • Rep. Gwen Moore (Wis.)

  • Rep. Marie Gluesenkamp Perez (Wash.)

  • Rep. Katie Porter (Calif.)

  • Rep. Jamie Raskin (Md.)

  • Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger (Md.)

  • Rep. Brad Schneider (Ill.)

  • Rep. Kim Schrier (Wash.)

  • Rep. Bobby Scott (Va.)

  • Rep. Elissa Slotkin (Mich.)

  • Rep. Mark Takano (Calif.)

  • Rep. Rashida Tlaib (Mich.)

  • Rep. Nikema Williams (Ga.)

Mychael Schnell contributed.

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to The Hill.