Here are the 2023 Lexington All-City boys’ basketball teams and player of the year

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

The Lexington Herald-Leader and are proud to present the 2023 All-City boys’ high school basketball teams and player of the year as voted on by the nine coaches of Lexington’s varsity KHSAA programs.

The Lexington Player of the Year goes to Lexington Catholic’s Reece Potter, a 7-foot center committed to Miami (Ohio). Potter led the Knights with 17.9 points and 8.7 rebounds per game in helping them to the 43rd District title and 11th Region finals.

Potter earned six of the nine coaches’ votes for player of the year, with the other three going to Frederick Douglass’ Kai Simpson. Joining them on the first team were Simpson’s Broncos teammate Armelo Boone, Paul Laurence Dunbar’s Nick Spalding and Lexington Christian’s Tyler Hall.

The nine varsity boys’ basketball coaches in Lexington were asked to nominate players for All-City consideration. Later, the coaches were asked to rank, one through 10, the top players from that list of nominees (they were not permitted to vote for their own players).

Point values were assigned to each voting position (10 points for first-place votes, nine points for second-place votes, etc.) and the accumulation of those points was used to create the First and Second Teams. Per tradition, each team is limited to three all-city honorees. First-team honorees are listed with voting totals plus first-place votes in parentheses.


Reece Potter, Lexington Catholic, 78 (6).

Kai Simpson, Frederick Douglass, 64 (3).

Armelo Boone, Frederick Douglass, 58.

Nick Spalding, Paul Laurence Dunbar, 53.

Tyler Hall, Lexington Christian, 43.


Eric Hackett, Tates Creek.

Aveion Chenault, Frederick Douglass.

Konlin Brown, Henry Clay.

Tyler Doyle, Lexington Catholic.

Ian Reesor, Sayre.


Bryan Station: Amari Owens, Jaden Biggers, Felix Gonzalez.

Henry Clay: Mason Hawkins, Henry Lynch.

Lafayette: Emmany Bandamuna, DeMarcus Surratt, Jayd Huynh.

Lexington Catholic: Hudson Sparks.

Lexington Christian: Andersen Green, Saxton Howard.

Paul Laurence Dunbar: Max VanDyke, Cade Hilt.

Sayre: Brock Coffman, Davis Miller.

Tates Creek: Rae Owsley, Jacobi Commodore.