Sharon Jones Remembered by Questlove, Nile Rodgers, Jason Isbell & More: 'An Incredibly Strong Person & Magical Performer'

Billboard

Sharon Jones, the powerful soul singer and Dap-Kings frontwoman, has died at age 60 after a years-long battle with cancer, her publicist announced Friday (Nov. 18).


According to a statement, Jones "was surrounded by her loved ones, including the Dap-Kings" -- and she continues to be surrounded by love, as her music peers and admirers pay tribute to her across social media. See reactions from Questlove, Nile Rodgers, Jason Isbell and more below:

Rest In Peace to the beautiful black queen Sharon Jones pic.twitter.com/SUftVhDSYt

- Leon Bridges (@leonbridges) November 19, 2016 

Thank You Sharon. Thank You. #2016

A photo posted by Questlove Gomez (@questlove) on Nov 18, 2016 at 5:47pm PST

#RIPSharonJones - You are incredible and mighty. Condolences to your family.

- Nile Rodgers (@nilerodgers) November 19, 2016

So very sad to hear of Sharon Jones' passing. An incredibly strong person and a magical performer. Heartbreaking.

- Jason Isbell (@JasonIsbell) November 19, 2016

RIP Sharon Jones. This record never felt more appropriate pic.twitter.com/FtSgkLktv3

- Bonobo (@si_bonobo) November 19, 2016

The fabulous Sharon Jones has passed tonight she & her band The DapKings made great music together & she sang her butt off. Condolences RIP

- Whoopi Goldberg (@WhoopiGoldberg) November 19, 2016

We are deeply saddened to announce Sharon Jones passed away today. More details at https://t.co/D4nHMbOIge pic.twitter.com/pWmP9IDL2m

- The Dap-Kings (@The_DapKings) November 19, 2016

Sharon Jones was one of the nicest musicians I ever met and an awe-inspiring talent. Rest In Peace.

- Okkervil River (@okkervilriver) November 19, 2016

#SharonJones and #Prince are together once again. Rest in Peace to these two beautiful souls. pic.twitter.com/dAFBvWq9SJ

- Zaheer Ali (@zaheerali) November 19, 2016

So sorry to read about Sharon Jones's passing. The doc about her, MISS SHARON JONES!, was great.#RIPMissJones pic.twitter.com/nmSTlamnQU

- greg mottola (@gregmottola) November 19, 2016

RIP SHARON JONES. MAY THIS HELLISH NIGHTMARE OF A YEAR PLEASE COME TO AN END.

- Jake Fogelnest (@jakefogelnest) November 19, 2016

Sharon Jones????? Please stop this now. Enough is enough

- Judith Hill (@Judith_Hill) November 19, 2016

A major force. A beauty. She made the whole room sexy. She turned the toughest crowd into a dance party. Love you @sharonjones

- Amy Millan (@amymillan) November 19, 2016

RIP Sharon Jones

A true soul woman, inspiration and one of the most powerful performers ever. Rest in Power

We... https://t.co/drwStB2ou6- Monophonics (@monophonicsfunk) November 19, 2016

QUEEN! We will miss you. SHARON JONES pic.twitter.com/2zw76Dvagq

- Liv Warfield (@livwarfield) November 19, 2016