Macaulay Culkin Cooks Up Tribute Band to Velvet Underground and Pizza

Jon Wiederhorn
Yahoo Music

Perhaps in an effort to compete with Crispin Glover and Corey Feldman for weirdest pop culture has-beens, ex-child star Macaulay Culkin — who last received IMDB screen credit credit in 2010 for voiceover work for for the "Robot Chicken DP Christmas Special" — has been spending time paying musical tribute to two of his favorite inspirations, the late Lou Reed and the Velvet Underground and, uh, pizza.

Culkin's group, the Pizza Underground, cooked up a demo of Velvets covers and Lou Reed's biggest solo hit "Walk on the Wild Side" revamped with lyrics about pizza delivery, pizza ingredients, and the process of ordering pizza.

The entire demo is eight-minutes and 49 seconds long, and each song melts into the next. It was recorded live at Culkin's house on Nov. 11 and is about the same fidelity as early Velvets demos. The Pizza Underground delivered the songs Dec. 2 and they're available at a price of your choosing on BandCamp.

Culkin plays percussion, kazoo, and vocals, and is joined by Matt Colbourne (guitar, vocals), Phoebe Kreutz (glockenspiel, vocals), Deenah Vollmer (pizza box, vocals), and Austin Kilham (tambourine, vocals). As a taste of how clever (or intoxicated) they are, Pizza Underground converts "I'm Waiting for the Man" to "I'm Waiting for the Delivery Man," "Femme Fatale" to "Pizza Gal," and "All Tomorrow's Parties to "All the Pizza Parties."

Culkin;s shining moment might be the kazoo solo on "Take a Bite of the Wild Slice," a spoof, of course, of "Walk on the Wild Side."

Check out these lyrics: "Gina came from Sicily, made her pies traditionally/ Pizza Hut said fill you must put some cheese inside that crust/ Say hey, Gina, take a bite of the wild slice."

The album art for the Pizza Underground demo is a Photoshopped version of Velvet Underground's debut album that depicts the band holding a pizza box instead of a record jacket.

According the U.K. paper The Guardian, the Pizza Underground was not concocted in the wake of Reed’s death on Oct. 27, 2013. The band actually formed in early 2012 and has played a Lou Reed tribute at New York's Sidewalk Café.

Half-baked, for sure, but the entire demo is over before you can finish a piping hot slice of pizza.

The Pizza Underground Demo:
01 Papa John Says
02 I'm Beginning to Eat the Slice
03 Pizza
04 I'm Waiting for Delivery Man
05 Cheese Days
06 Pizza Day
07 All the Pizza Parties
08 Pizza Gal
09 Take a Bite of the Wild Slice