Hear Destiny’s Child’s ‘Nuclear,’ First Song In Eight Years

Billy Johnson, Jr.
Hip-Hop Media Training (NEW)

Destiny’s Child’s new song, “Nuclear,” their first release in more than eight years, is more subtle than expected. The song premiered Friday on Mashable.

A name like “Nuclear” implies something bombastic, party-oriented and in-your-face like DC’s classics “No No No,” “Survivor” and “Lose My Breath,” but previously unreleased song is actually quite mellow.

Over moody synthesizers, rapid-hip-hop snares and kick drum patterns, Beyoncé, Kelly and Michelle sing about finding a soul mate.

Though their stripped-down vocal approach is more conservative than their other songs, “Nuclear” offers a more mature, comforting styling for the ladies.

The song written by Michelle, Lonny Bereal and James Fauntleroy, will appear on the Destiny’s Child album, Love Songs, due out on January 29. In addition to “Nuclear,” the set will include 13 previously released ballads, among them, “Emotion,” “Cater 2 U” and Say My Name” (Timbaland remix).

Beyoncé will also feature Kelly and Michelle in her Super Bowl halftime show in February.

Destiny's Child - Love Songs Tracklisting

1) Cater 2 U (2004 - Destiny Fulfilled)

2) Killing Time (1998 - Destiny's Child)

3) Second Nature (1998 - Destiny's Child)

4) Heaven (2002 - Simply Deep)

5) Now That She’s Gone (1999 - The Writing's On The Wall)

6) Brown Eyes (2001 - Survivor)

7) If (2004 - Destiny Fulfilled)

8) Emotion (2001 - Survivor)

9) If You Leave (featuring Next) (1999 - The Writing's On The Wall)

10) T­-Shirt (2004 - Destiny Fulfilled)

11) Temptation (1999 - The Writing's On The Wall)

12) Say My Name (Timbaland remix) (2002 - This Is The Remix)

13) Love (2004 - Destiny Fulfilled)

14) Nuclear (2013 - Destiny's Child - Love Songs)

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter.