Coldplay Trumps U2 by Announcing New Album ‘Ghost Stories’

Craig Rosen
Yahoo Music

Until last week's release of "Midnight," Coldplay has been fairly quiet. Aside from the track "Atlas," released in the summer of 2013 on "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" soundtrack, Chris Martin and company had been missing in action.

While Coldplay was away, U2 -- the band they're frequent compared to -- seemed to have stolen their thunder, scoring an Oscar nomination for "Ordinary Love" and performing that song last night on the Oscars, plus on the debut of the new "Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon." They also managed to blow out a new single, "Invisible," as a free download for charity during the Super Bowl.

But now Coldplay has struck back by doing something the Bono and company have yet to nail down. They've announced a release date for their new album, and yet another new track. Coldplay's sixth album, "Ghost Stories," is due on May 19 and the first single from the album, "Magic," is available now for streaming and from iTunes for purchase or as an immediate premium if you pre-order the album. If physical product is more your bag, Target will issue a deluxe CD with three bonus tracks.

While the delicate and fey "Midnight" earned the band comparisons with indie stalwart Bon Iver, on "Magic," the band cranks it up a few notches with on the minimalist beat-driven tune in which the band ingeniously adds more layers as it progresses, as Martin's voice reaches seemingly new highs. Still, we wouldn't exactly call it a rocker.

Despite what you might think from the first two tracks, the album is not entirely made up of songs with single word titles beginning with the letter "m." You'll find the complete track listing below and might even hear a few more tracks from the new album when Coldplay headlines the opening night of the first U.S. iTunes Festival at SXSW on March 11. Even if you're not planning to travel to Austin for the festival, you can catch it live streaming or on-demand for free via the iTunes Store.

And by the way, record-label geeks take note, "Ghost Stories" will be Coldplay's first album for the Warner Music Group, as Parlaphone, the British label the Beatles once recorded for, was sold by EMI to the Warner Music Group last year with the rights to Coldplay a major part of the deal.

The "Ghost Stories" tracklisting:

1. Always In My Head
2. Magic
3. Ink
4. True Love
5. Midnight
6. Another's Arms
7. Oceans
8. A Sky Full Of Stars
9. O

Follow Craig Rosen on Twitter.