35 Free Music Downloads Offered For Voter Registration

Billy Johnson, Jr.
Hip-Hop Media Training (NEW)

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter.

Non-partisan organization Voto Latino is launching a new campaign today to help encourage young Latinos to vote. The organization has teamed with iTunes to offer more than 30 free music downloads to those who sign up to receive information on voter registration and other key issues throughout 2012.

In order to receive the free downloads, users must open their iTunes application and visit the Voto Latino Facebook page.

Pitbull, Kat Deluna, Los Tigres, and Miguel are among the artists featured on the compilation.

Actress Rosario Dawson, who co-founded Voto Latino in 2004, explained why the organization decided to offer free music as a means to reach voters. "Our interest is to keep bringing people into the political mix," she said in a statement. "Everyone should have an understanding of the system whether or not they're eligible to vote and we believe that offering free music through social media platforms will help continue to motivate and engage those that may not already be a part of the conversation."

Voto Latino CEO/President Maria Teresa Kumar added, "Music is an incredible motivator to learn more about the political process."

Voto Latino used free downloads in 2010 to encourage tens of thousands of young people to complete census surveys.

"We now want to translate that pledge to the polls," Kumar said. "The iTunes compilation sparks the interest. Voto Latino shows how easy it is to register, vote and carve out our community's future together."

Voto Latino has helped register more than 120,000 people to vote.

The compilation includes a diverse mixture of music, spanning Regional Mexican, rock/alternative, hip-hop, Brazilian and Christian music.


Pitbull — "Something For the DJ's"
Miguel — "Girls Like You"
Kat Deluna — "Bailando"
Los Lobos — "On Main Street"
Rodrigo y Gabriela — "Hanuman"
Ozomatli — "El Jardinero"
Los Tigres del Norte — "Somos Mas Americanos"
Ana Tijoux — "Shock"
Zoé  - "Labios Rotos"
Mariachi El Bronx — "48 Roses"
Ximena Sariñana — "Wrong Miracle"
Nortec Collective — "I Count the Ways"
Beatriz Luengo — "Lengua"
Vicente García — "Yo Robo"
24 Horas "Te Sorprenderás"
Domino Saints — "No Me Digas Que No"
Los Cuates de Sinaloa — "Enamorado al Millión"
Shaila Dúrcal — "El Día Que Me Fui"
Mariachi Divas — "Órale"
Diego Garcia — "All Eyes on You"
Ceci Bastida — "No Me Conocerás"
Ocote Soul Sounds — "En El Temblor"
Girl In a Coma — "Hope"
Carla Morrison — "Suciedad"
David Garza — "Minority Boys Got $"
Brownout — "Olvídalo"
Pilar Díaz — "Ilegal en Estyle"
Los Rakas — "Vengo de Panamá"
Akwid — "Payaso de Ojos Tristes
Ritmo Machine — "Maestro"
Jiggy Drama — "El Culpable"
Maleco Collective — "Respira"
Céu — "Bubia"
Luisa Maita — "Desencabulada"
Paulina Aguirre — "Abrázame"