The 13 Top Instagram Music Moments of 2016

Billboard

To help commemorate the year in music, Instagram has shared a number of artist-related lists summing up 2016 on the service.

Here, Billboard presents the Instagram-provided roundup of the top music moments on IG, from "Starboy" to the Super Bowl. Check out 13 of the most-memorable, most-shared moments below:

1. The death of David Bowie

 

The world loves you David.

A video posted by xoxo, Joanne (@ladygaga) on Feb 15, 2016 at 3:08pm PST

 

 

@gucci #Fall2016

A photo posted by IMAN (@the_real_iman) on Feb 15, 2016 at 2:40pm PST

 

 

Heart ----

A photo posted by Kate Hudson (@katehudson) on Jan 11, 2016 at 2:06am PST

 

2. The death of Prince

 

My musical brother... My friend... The one who showed me the possibilities within myself, changed everything, and kept his integrity until the end, is gone. I am heartbroken.

A photo posted by Lenny Kravitz (@lennykravitz) on Apr 21, 2016 at 10:52am PDT

 

 

an artist who showed true creative freedom and challenged all barriers. there are a million things to say. rip, beautiful.

A photo posted by Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:07am PDT

 

 

----

A photo posted by Kylie (@kyliejenner) on Apr 21, 2016 at 10:31am PDT

 

3. Beyonce with Jay Z and Blue Ivy at the Super Bowl

  

A photo posted by Beyoncé (@beyonce) on Feb 7, 2016 at 7:14pm PST

 

4. Beyonce teasing "Formation" and the Formation World Tour

 

A video posted by Beyoncé (@beyonce) on Feb 6, 2016 at 7:59pm PST

 

 

A video posted by Beyoncé (@beyonce) on Feb 6, 2016 at 7:58pm PST

 

 

A video posted by Beyoncé (@beyonce) on Feb 6, 2016 at 7:58pm PST


5. Selena Gomez's 60-second teaser video 

So insta has 60 sec vids now... also new stuff --

A video posted by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on Mar 29, 2016 at 10:26am PDT

 

6. The Weeknd announces Starboy

 

NEW ALBUM COVER / TITLE shot by @nabildo #STARBOY

A photo posted by The Weeknd (@theweeknd) on Sep 21, 2016 at 9:01am PDT

 

7. Solange invites fans to A Seat at the Table

 

My Album, A Seat At The Table, will be released digitally this Friday • September 30th. Visit www.solangemusic.com to experience the #ASeatAtTheTable digital book now. I am overwhelmed with gratitude and excitement to share this body of work I have written, with you. Album Cover Photography : @carlota_guerrero

A photo posted by Solange (@saintrecords) on Sep 27, 2016 at 2:57pm PDT

 

8. Lady Gaga promotes the release of "Perfect Illusion" on Instagram Stories

 

#PERFECTILLUSION Instagram story! And thanks @instagram for letting me take over your story too! -- --: @chenpamela

A photo posted by xoxo, Joanne (@ladygaga) on Sep 13, 2016 at 6:32pm PDT

 

 

#PERFECTILLUSION Instagram story! And thanks @instagram for letting me take over your story too! -- --: @chenpamela

A photo posted by xoxo, Joanne (@ladygaga) on Sep 13, 2016 at 6:32pm PDT

 

9. Beck "Wow"s with new song preview

 

WOW / JUNE 2 @ NOON EDT #beckWOW

A video posted by Beck (@beck) on Jun 1, 2016 at 9:22am PDT

 

10. Taylor Swift shares a moment with Carole King

 

Last night at the BMI Awards, I got to hug Carole King, Cynthia Weil, and Barry Mann. Winning Songwriter of the Year was incredible, and I'll never forget seeing my heroes in person. Thanks BMI for treating us songwriters so well and throwing this event every year honoring our work.

A photo posted by Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) on May 11, 2016 at 1:02pm PDT

 

11. Drake previews the first Summer Sixteen Tour show in Toronto

 

Me and the arena had our private moment today...we agreed on how this is going to play out. SUMMER SIXTEEN TOUR TORONTO AKA OVO FEST NIGHT ONE TMRW

A photo posted by champagnepapi (@champagnepapi) on Jul 30, 2016 at 8:47pm PDT

 

12. Justin Timberlake teases studio footage of "Can't Stop the Feeling!"

 

#CantStopTheFeeling First Listen. Midnight / 9 PM PT tonight. Stay tuned.

A video posted by Justin Timberlake (@justintimberlake) on May 5, 2016 at 9:08am PDT

 

13. Chris Martin and Gwenyth Paltrow's daughter Apple and Beyonce and Jay Z's daughter Blue Ivy hold hands at the Super Bowl

 

#superbowl50 jacket game

A photo posted by Gwyneth Paltrow (@gwynethpaltrow) on Feb 7, 2016 at 2:56pm PST